First CK blog post and…

This weekend I spent Saturday at a Rottweiler carting test. Nothing exciting. Since my girl Schara is retired from competition, I acted as secretary and did the paperwork. However, it did mean getting in gear on Sunday as my first CK blog post was scheduled for today. I’d already had a start on it, but had to finish and sift through pictures. And of course since everyone participating is starting her posts with a banner, I had to do a banner. All of which is to say it’s now the early wee hours of Monday and I just posted the thing. I hope you’ll take a look and let me know what you think.

I also had a little eye opener last week. As you know, as a fan of the All About Romance site I check the site regularly. (Maybe it’s my imagination, but I feel like they’re reviewing more westerns lately.) However, somehow I managed to miss the blog post titled Romance and Cultural Expectations, which is to say I missed a more polite version (after all AAR is moderated) of the same type of reactions expressing similar sentiments once got me on the Amazon Romance forum. Even though some participants thought the discussions were rancorous, as someone baptized by fire, they seemed merely heated to me.

What woke me up to the whole thing was a second blog that referenced the first. The second one is When “I Can’t” Becomes “No One Should”. Reading that made me go back and catch up on the first. I found no trace of a recommendation or desire for censorship or banning anything in the first post. It seemed to me more a matter of wishing societal attitudes would change as they have over things like drunk driving. Of course those who are convinced that anyone who considers forced seduction a euphemism for date rape saw a petition for censorship in every line. And said so. Often. In detail.

I suppose it’s nice to know I’m not the only one who provokes hysteria by admitting her attitude toward the whole thing, but I feel a lot of sympathy for the author of the first blog post. It’s amazing how often one gets shouted down and called intolerant by people who are only tolerant of those who agree with them.

~Ellen

5 Responses to First CK blog post and…

  1. mesadallas says:

    Hi, Ellen, this is very late but I really liked your article for CK. It was very informative and covered some info that writers really need to pay more attention to.

    I’m so late with feed back because I’ve been swamped with handling the sping concert. I not only write it but I also direct, costume, and do everything else that goes along with it. It will be over on the 14th. I’m resorting to prayer that Sacajawea will get her lines down by then.

  2. Hi, mesadallas – Thanks for the feedback. Some of the info people are posting over there is really great. Wonder how long we can keep it up. :-)

    I know that kids have to learn about history from all over the world no matter where they live, but somehow an Arizona student laboring over Sacajawea lines makes me smile.

    ~Ellen

  3. mesadallas says:

    The program was last night and my little Sacajawea pulled through. The program was about building character and highlighting the “Character First” curriculum we teach at school. I decided to bring in characters from American history to represent how character traits contributed to the building of America. Sacajawea talked about teamwork, determination, and perserverance- enduring until the end. A Pony Express Rider talked about the importance of punctuality- knowing your own limits, being in the right place at the right time, finishing what you set out to do, keeping a schedule.

    Anyway, I had four such characters and if I do say so myself the program was a big hit . Parents and more important, my boss loved it. I enjoy writing, directing, and costuming these programs but I have to admit I’m breathing a sigh of relief now that it’s over.

  4. You give me faith in the school system after all, mesadallas. Well, at least in the ones where no one’s telling kids they’re going to jail for criticizing the President.

    Using historical figures to highlight desirable character traits sounds pretty creative to me. I can see why everyone loved it.

    ~Ellen

  5. mesadallas says:

    Thank’s, Ellen!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers