I’m Baack!

If you think I all but dropped off the face of the earth, or at least the Internet, a few days after Into the Light came out, you’re right. Some non-writing, non-book things came up that pretty much have had me ignoring writing and my own books all summer. The last few days I’ve finally gotten my head straight enough that I’m contemplating my writing and books again. I never stopped reading other people’s books, of course. That’s always been a comfort and escape when real life gets less than lovely.

So to cover the Missing Months—thanks again to those of you who purchased, reviewed, and spread the word in any way about Into the Light. It did have a successful debut, although there are a few things on my To Do list for it that still need to be To Done.

In the mean time, in August, InD’Tale notified me that Beautiful Bad Man did win the American History division of their 2012 RONE awards. Thanks also to all of you who voted for it in the preliminary round and got it to the final, judged round.

smallRONEbadge

This month, fellow historical romance author Regan Walker (Regencies) notified me that Dancing on Coals made it to her Top 20 list. In there by the skin of its teeth at No. 20, but in there. :-)

Among the books I used as comfort reads in the last months was a boxed set of Captain Lacey mysteries. I saw a reference to these on KBoards one day, looked on Amazon, tried a sample (yes, in spite of the low price I sampled, what can I say, my mother was a Scot, via Canada, but a Scot). These aren’t romances but historical mysteries with a romantic thread, set in the Regency time period. In keeping with my vow not to review, I’m not, but I will say I thought it was a terrific value for $.99 and bought the rest of the series.

I’m sure some other noteworthy things happened in my Missing Months, but I can’t think of them right now.

~Ellen

12 Responses to I’m Baack!

  1. Lovestoread says:

    Congratulations on your well deserved honors. Both books are wonderful.

    I hope that the events that waylaid you are behind you now and resolved to your satisfaction.

  2. Rhonda says:

    Congratulations on the Rone Award!!! I am thrilled for you! And, being selected for the top 20 list.
    I hope whatever stole your attention and consumed your time has been tended and put in place.
    Love your books. Every one.
    [Being part Scot is good -- I know this! :-)]

  3. mesadallas says:

    Sometimes you need a break! I should be writing the school Christmas program right now but instead I’m going shopping for baby clothes for grandchild number 23.

    Don’t want to sound like a parrot but the recognition you are getting is well deserved. You wrote wonderful books!

  4. reganwalker says:

    Ellen,
    Thanks so much for mentioning my Top 20 list. You should know that the second 10 are not really in any order so no “skin of the teeth” for Dancing on Coals! And I could have listed any one of your books though that is probably my favorite. I love your work!

    Regan

    http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com/

  5. Appreciate the best wishes, everyone.

    Twenty-third grandchild, mesadallas? Wow! Shop away.

    Glad to know Dancing wasn’t really skin of the teeth, Regan.

    ~Ellen

  6. McD says:

    Congratulations on your well-deserved (yet not surprising!) RONE award win, Ellen! And hope your busy life stays settled.

  7. Thanks, McD. The most surprising part to me was that Bad Man made it to the finals. I only posted requests for votes in the reader voting stage here and in the MOA Amazon thread on Western Romance, but I saw authors who asked in large forums with thousands of members. I suppose I underestimated the power of a smaller group of people more willing to take the time. One way or the other, I’m grateful to have been boosted over that threshold. ~Ellen

  8. Rosheen says:

    It was a very well deserved win ;)

  9. Thanks, Rosheen.

    And guess what? I’m writing this from a motel room in Morrill, Nebraska, where I judged a Rottweiler carting test for the first time. Only one contestant wanted to lynch me when it was over ~Ellen

  10. Jenni says:

    I’m late to spot your post but have to add my congratulations – the plaudits are just so deserved. I’m also selfishly glad you’re back in the land of the writing as my reading list would be a much poorer place without your work! Hope life is on a more even keel now.

    [you can rely on some Scottish stubbornness, as well as *cough* frugality, to get you through....100% Scot here, so I'm allowed to say that :) ]

  11. Thanks, Jenni, and welcome. I don’t think you have to be a Scot to comment on the frugality. So far as I’ve ever seen they (one-half me) are proud of it. ~Ellen

  12. You can certainly see your skills within the work you write.
    The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how
    they believe. All the time go after your heart.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers