Merry Christmas… and a Heads Up

Edited to add: Patricia asked if subscribing to the blog is enough. No, the mailing list is separate. If you look to the right of this post, you’ll see the very first block at the top of the column says, NEW RELEASE NOTIFICATION, and if you read further, you’ll see it mentions getting short stories when they’re written. You need to click there to subscribe to the list.

Merry Christmas, everyone. I hope your holidays are everything you could wish for.

I also hoped to be able to give everyone on my mailing list a Christmas present about now, but as it turns out, it’s going to be more of a New Year’s present.

The fact is by late summer and fall it was obvious that my 2013 goal of getting more than one book out this year was a big bust. So I decided to go ahead and develop one of the ideas I had for a short.

You may remember that the many reviews of Rachel’s Eyes saying “too short” really pushed my buttons. Not that I don’t believe anyone or many ones aren’t entitled to think it is too short. My problem is that it’s labeled in the title “a Short Story,” and the blurb starts out with that and then gives word and page count. So if 6,000 words is “too short” for someone, my feeling is for Heaven’s sake why bother with it in the first place?

After that I vowed never to publish anything short again but to save them until I had enough for a novel-length collection, and in the meantime to make the shorts available as I wrote them to those who signed up for my mailing list.

I’m pleased to say that while I didn’t get more than one book written this year, I did get that one book (Into the Light) and one novella written. Ta da! Yes, not a short story, but a a novella, probably still too short for some, but if you’re one of those, you’re going to ignore it, right?

Luke-blog

Luke’s Eyes is another story based on the characters of Eyes of Silver, Eyes of Gold, this time Cord’s nephew, Luke Bennett. Cord and Anne also make considerably more than cameo appearances.

If you would like to be able to download the story, you must be subscribed to the mailing list. As I said above, it is my intention to publish this story as part of a collection in the future. It may take a year or even two before they’re all ready. This year at least one standalone romance is on the schedule. However, as I get to them, my plan for the shorts is (keeping in mind that Eyes started in fall of 1885 and ended in February 1886):

Rachel’s Eyes – winter 1889-90
Luke’s Eyes – February 1891
Robert’s Eyes (Anne’s brother Rob) – summer 1891
Eyes of Stone (Anne and Cord’s next encounter with the couple who owned the horse Cord raced in Eyes) – summer or fall of 1893
Pete’s Eyes (Cord’s other nephew) – spring 1894

So this is my fair warning. If you’d like to be able to download Luke’s Eyes, you need to be signed up for the mailing list.

~ Ellen

18 Responses to Merry Christmas… and a Heads Up

  1. Patricia Patterson says:

    I subscribe to the blog. Is there more to be on the mailing list? If so, please tell me and I am there. Merry Christmas.

  2. Tina says:

    Me too! How do I download? What a great present! Thanks!

  3. Rhonda Maurer says:

    Merry Christmas, Ellen O’Connell !!! Loved hearing from you. AND, loved hearing about your novella, Luke’s Eyes. I’m thrilled. Can’t wait. Eyes of Silver, Eyes of Gold happens to be my companion book when I travel, which is about 3 or 4 times per year. It is my take along and read again book. Naturally, I have read all your books — each more than once — but, I’m delighted that your new endeavor takes you back to Anne, Cord and the Bennett family. I’m really looking forward to future reading. Sending good thoughts and wonderful wishes for a splendid holiday season … here’s to a fine productive new year. All the Best and Good Cheer, Rhonda Maurer

    Date: Wed, 25 Dec 2013 00:54:54 +0000 To: rrmfolly@msn.com

  4. Tina says:

    Hi again, sorry to be obtuse, but I’m on the mailing list and I don’t see anyway to download the novella. When I click on the picture, it just gives me a jpeg of the picture. Are you posting the link later? Anyway, sorry to be a bother! Thanks :)

  5. June Breed says:

    Happy Christmas Ellen. What a lovely Christmas present another story from you. Can’t wait to get it. I love the Bennetts, especially Anne and Cord. Like Rhonda I have read all your books and loved each and every one.

  6. Rosheen says:

    Merry christmas Ellen. You write a great story , what ever length .

  7. Jenni says:

    Merry Christmas, Ellen! Thanks in advance for Luke’s Eyes…can’t wait. Seeing this post on your blog helped snap me out of the imminent food coma after finishing Christmas Lunch :) Very much looking forward to future shorts too, whatever lengths they turn out to be . Wishing you all the very best for 2014!

  8. Hi! I am subscribed as described above, how do I download the book? :D Thank you!

  9. Hi, everyone – Just to clarify since I obviously wasn’t clear enough in the post:

    * The novella isn’t available yet. I wanted to give everyone a heads up that it’s going to be available in the next week so that anyone who isn’t subscribed to the mailing list would have a chance to do so. You subscribe to the mailing list by clicking on the top box of the ones over the books covers in the column to the right of the blog posts.

    * Subscribing to the BLOG is not subscribing to the MAILING LIST, and you need to subscribe to the mailing list to receive the story. Subscribing to the mailing list will not get you anything but notification of new novels and the chance for early (and free) access to stories like Luke’s Eyes.

    Thanks for all the compliments and encouragement. Those are your gifts to me.

    ~ Ellen

  10. Marcia Montoya says:

    Oh, Thank you so much. I can’t wait for these to come out. I’m such a big fan as is most of my family in several states. Keep up the good work.
    Marcia Montoya

  11. DallasE says:

    Oh boy, an Ellen O’Connell fix, I’m needing one! LOL

  12. McD says:

    Firstly, Merry Christmas, Ellen! Secondly, thank you for the late Christmas/early New Year gift of an Eyes novella!!

  13. Marcia Montoya says:

    Oh thankyou for the novella. I guess Im having a senior moment, but Im clueless how to get thin into my kindle…can someone help?? I have downloaded it into my computer.
    Thankyou
    Marcia Montoya

  14. Marcia Montoya says:

    It should have said getting this into my kindle…sorry

  15. Anonymous says:

    I’m with you Marcia I’ve got it on my computer and my iPad but I can’t work out how to get it on my Kindle. I prefer reading my Kindle, it’s lighter than the iPad. I have started reading it on my iPad ‘cos I can’t wait. It’s really time I grew out of this impatient streak but I don’t think that’s likely to happen now…especially when an Ellen O’Connell book is the source of my impatience.

  16. This is what I do to get a document into my Kindle:

    Download the book to my PC (make sure you know where it went – on my PCs it goes to the folder Downloads).

    Connect my Kindle to the PC with the USB cord that came with it.

    Copy the novella from the PC to the Documents folder of the Kindle (make sure you get it in this folder because if you get it on the Kindle but not in that folder, it won’t show up.)

    I then click on the icon on the lower right that says it’s safe to disconnect the Kindle from the PC.

    If all else fails, download the pdf document. I will open on any PC. The novella is 31,000 words, or about 100 pages.

    The process is similar for getting an epub into my Kobo, but I don’t have any experience with Kindle Fires, Ipads and the like.

    Amazon has a Send to Kindle program, but I don’t know how it works or if it works for downloads like this or only for web pages and the like. I suppose I ought to experiment.

    ~ Ellen

  17. DallasE says:

    For downloading to a Kindle; I right-clicked on the link and then clicked on “Save As” in the pop up box. I then chose Kindle as the target. I then closed out of email and went to my Documents and brought up Kindle; then did as Ellen suggested with the USB cord. By the way, this is how I buy and download books from Smashwords and All Romance.

    I have Luke’s Eyes downloaded, but am forcing myself to finish the book I’m reading first, lol.

  18. Sassy says:

    Big fan just wanted to say you are awesome and I’ll take a page from you any day of the week. HUGS for my gift.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers