A new beginning

I have no idea if anyone is going to read this or decide to continue the discussion we’ve been having on the Amazon Historical Romance forum, not just for my book but on a lot of other topics someone found interesting and started to run with. I hope so. That thread has been a constant source of pleasure for the five months it sat in relative obscurity on that forum. I wish it could have continued that way, but since the thread has been invaded by angry, hostile people, this is my attempt to give it a new beginning in a different environment.   ~Ellen

24 Responses to A new beginning

  1. Dusty says:

    Ellen,
    I just finished and left review on your Eyes of Silver, Eyes of Gold.

    I absolutely enjoyed this book and was so disappointed it came to an end!

    Please, please tell me you are going to write another book to finish the story. Was Cord and Anne’s baby a boy/girl? What kind of parents were they, what kind of child. Were there more children? Did Rob find a nice girl after all? And so on…you could really make a fabulous series out of this book…would you?

    Dusty

  2. Dusty says:

    BTW…it was that thread you mentioned that caught my eye on your book. I purchased it immediately after reading the thread. I was so appalled by the attacks. Immature behavior at best.

    I just purchased your Rottweiler Rescue book. I’ll keep reading…you keep writing!

    Dusty

  3. Hi Dusty,

    Thanks a bunch for letting me know you liked Eyes and for taking the time to post a nice review. I’m afraid that at least so far I haven’t thought of any new stories for the Bennetts. As the author I can tell you in my mind, the baby is a boy and they have one other, a girl a few years down the road. Not only are they good parents, but Cord is SUCH a good father it leaves everyone with their mouths open most of the time.

    I hope to have my next western historical romance out at the end of October, November at the latest. It’s called Sing My Name and if I could just get this blog thing to work as desired, I’d get a description of Sing on the website still tonight.

  4. Dusty – Just saw your second post. Thanks again. I’ll have to admit I feel like I’ve been cyber-lynched. It had me really down for a day or so, but people like you are helping me bounce back.

  5. Dusty says:

    Ohh wonderful…you have a new book coming out soon! I love the title already.

    Again…THANK YOU for such an enjoyable book…on to the next one now Rottweiler Rescue…as I push back the 300 or so books on my Kindle, to be read further back. Love my Kindle!

    Dusty

  6. McD says:

    Ellen

    So glad to see you have set up your own blog.
    Look forward to some great discussions with you and other fans of historical western romance.

    Best
    McD

  7. Dusty says:

    Ellen,
    At the risk of making a pest of myself here…I discovered your secret Latimer chapter! You should/could of left it in the book. It was a very moving, thought provoking and seeing Cord in another light. Thank you for making it available to your readers.

    Dusty

  8. Christina says:

    Ellen, I hope that we can continue discussing Eyes here and the other interesting topics that were brought up. I hope that you have control over the haters from Amazon here. I am afraid they will find your Blog and try to continue the attacks here.

    Ellen, Don’t feel as if you were cyberlynched. Just go back and read all of the wonderful reviews that Eyes has on Amazon. A lot of people buy books there and never say a word on those Discussion Forums. That attacks came from a handful of spiteful women who kept reposting.

    Can’t wait for Sing My Name.

  9. Dusty – You are most certainly not a pest, but my very first commenter, and such an encouraging and enthusiastic one at that. Thanks.

    Christina – My hope is the discussions can continue here too. I really enjoyed that thread and the fact that it branched off to Lewis and Clark and v.d. and all sorts of things a lot.

    One of the pluses of a blog is that yes, it’s like a moderated forum and there’s no need to put up with nastiness. I hope, though, that people will understand that doesn’t mean no one can ever say anything critical.

  10. Christina says:

    I wondered as I read Eyes if life was truly that difficult for half-breeds. For his own wife to not be able to kiss Cord even in front of his own family seemed extremely sad to me. Did you have to research that or do you know someone that went through that experience?

    I am glad to read above that in your mind Cord and Ann had a son, I envisioned it that way myself.

    I was very taken by the subject of the history of birth control. My mother always told me that there was nothing until the advent of WWII. I guess there is still a lot of misinformation out there.

  11. IMO people not kissing in front of anyone would have been true for most couples in those days except in special circumstances (like the mistletoe). I don’t know about anyone else, but when I was a girl, nice people didn’t do PDAs (public displays of affection). Eyes is set in Victorian times, and while a place like Colorado wouldn’t be the same as Boston, there would still be pretty rigid attitudes about what was socially acceptable. A peck on the check, maybe, a real kiss? No.

    As to racial prejudice, from everything I know, it was a lot worse than what I portrayed in Eyes. I read a book about the Apache experience recently that mentioned how in the late 1800s people were having debates about whether or not they had souls. If you’re not familiar with what happened to the Apache, the U.S. made prisoners of war out of the last Chiricahua resisters. They threw half-Apache (and full Apache) men who had served as scouts for the Army in with the warriors who fought to the end (and women and children) and kept them as prisoners for 27 years, first in Florida, then in Alabama, and finally in Oklahoma.

    The birth control discussion surprised me too. My guess is that the knowledge of some of that stuff was confined to prostitutes and maybe some others who had especial reasons to find out. Nothing you read generally about those times gives you the impression that even marginally effective birth control was generally available.

  12. mesadallas says:

    Hi Everyone,

    I’m playing hooky fom school for a week and visiting my brother-in-law up in Seattle Washington. My brother-in-law has been diagnosed with cancer and although he is doing well, my husband wanted to see his brother just in case.Our son also lives here so It is an extra opportunity to also spend time with his family as well. I didn’t think I could count on getting to the blog but I’m using my son’s computer so it looks like I’ll be able to check in now and then.

    Yesterday we drove to Ocean Shores for a day of fresh air on the bech and,Ellen- I wound up having the worst horse experience of my life. There are horses to rent on the beach. You have to go with a guide and they don’t let you do anything but walk, however, any opportunity to ride is great with me and our grandchildren have never ridden a horse before, so we decided to go for an hour ride. They asked me if I had experience with horses and I told them I was an intermediate rider. They then brought out the lead horse which was enormous- and looked as if it was half draft horse. Her girth was about three feet wide-and I am only 5-1. They told me this horse didn’t want any other horse in front of it and to keep her about 20 feet in front of the other horses. We were part of a large group of about 20 other riders and we were not in single file but all spread out. Anyway, my horse immediately took off to get in the front of the pack and to make a long story short I could not control this horse. You would think I had never been on a horse before and I felt like a total fool. Especially after telling the guides I was sure I would have no problems doing what they wanted me to do. Plus I was very physically uncomfortable -felt like a wishbone. Halfway through the ride I told the guide I really need to switch horses with my husband who was on a quarter horse. My ranch raised, ex-wrangker husband had no trouble, and even had the mare singlefooting the way back. I asked him later why I was having so much trouble. He just smiled and said,” You couldn’t control the horse.”

    Well. I wanted to write more but we need to leave to go pick up a rental car.

  13. Christina says:

    By the time I could remember friends/family were doing PDAs here in KY. Perhaps the South was not as rigid on that score. I really don’t know, but that was why it surprised me so much especially that barn scene right after Ann backhanded Rob. I could not wrap my mind around Cord not even wanting Marty to see him embracing his own wife.

    I am not familiar with the treatment of the Apaches. Being part Cherokee myself I do know the story of The Trail of Tears quite well. It was disgraceful.

    I agree with you on the birth control. It was certainly not general knowlwdge here. But oddly enough many women had back alley abortions in KY. Most were performed by black Midwives. My own great-aunt had three. It would have been better if she had known about the herbs and other preventatives to pregnancy to my way of thinking.

  14. mesadallas – I’m so sorry about your brother-in-law. I hope he’s one of those who beats it and has lots of good years still ahead of him.

    And it’s really too bad you had a less than wonderful horseback outing, but at least you didn’t get hurt. My only experience on one of those kind of rides wasn’t good either and it made me wonder if the guys who run the rides deliberately try to take anyone who claims to be more than the rawest beginner down a peg.

  15. Christina says:

    Mesadallas, It is good to hear from you. I am also sorry to hear about your BIL. My late husband died from cancer and I know the treatments for that disease can be brutal. I look forward to your participation here when you return home.

  16. mesadallas says:

    You may be right about the guides taking me down a peg because that is certainly what happened. Well, the good thing that has come out of it is that my husband has committed to somehow take me riding more often than once every two years so that I can get my skills up. When we ge back to Mesa we will start working on how best to do this. He is thinking of putting an ad on craigslist to excercise horses in exchange for allowing him to give his wife riding lessons. We’ll see if we have any luck with this plan.

  17. mesadallas says:

    Thank you Christina- and I am sorry you have had to have first-hand experience with cancer.

    I’ve sure come to appreciate the life I have with my husband in the last few days.

  18. Christina says:

    TY, Mesadallas. I was widowed when I was 46 years old. I think it has been harder on my son in some ways. His father’s funeral was one month to the day before my son’s graduation from college. Not a very pleasant graduation for us.

    Don’t take any of your time with your husband for granted. I will admit that I don’t care for this widowed life very much. I actually teared up when I read in Ellen’s book about Ann sleeping on Cord’s shoulder. Trying to sleep alone in a big queen bed has been very rough….especially in the winter when it is cold.

  19. mesadallas says:

    Oh, christina, my heart breaks for the sorrow in your life. I am so sorry. My husband and I cherish our time together, especially since we both know that the time is coming when I will probably be alone for awhile as my husband is quite a few years older than myself.

  20. Christina says:

    Thanks, MesaDallas. Even though I had four years from the time os his diagnosis to prepare for this strange , new world I was not really prepared. Things crop up that I never thought about. But I am a survivor , in case you haven’t guessed. I was also younger than my husband. He was 12 years older than me. But still I neve expected him to die that young. My parents are 84 and 85 and both still alive.

  21. mesadallas says:

    There’s 20 years between my husband and I. He’s in fantastic shape- and doesn’t look anywhere close to his 70 years. Most people think he’s about 55 or so. But, we both know that time stands still for no man and that in all probability I’m going to outlive him. He’s started to have me do some of the things he always took care of like changing a flat tire,or the leak under the sink and I know why he’s doing it. So far we have had 30 happy, wonderful, passionate years together and hopefully we will have about 15 more.

  22. Heck if you’re going to plan, plan on 25, not 15. People keep living better and longer lives. I had never seen anyone over 100 who wasn’t in a wheelchair and looking half dead already until the last years. Now I’ve seen several featured on tv who are still on their feet and doing things past 100, so I’ve upped my own longevity goals.

  23. mesadallas says:

    You are so right,Ellen. Heck, I’ll plan on 30 more years – and you know it won’t surprise me at least if we make it. The last job my husband had was as a physical education teacher at the age of 65. He taught 6 hour long classes per day and began each class by not only running two laps with the kids but outrunning them as well.

  24. Christina says:

    I hope that things work out so that you have many , many more years with your husband, Mesadallas. Some of us are not so fortunate.

Leave a Reply

