If you lived 150 years ago….

One of the things I don’t like about blogs as well as the discussion we had on the thread at Amazon is they don’t seem to allow discussions to branch and flow the way we had before. So my thought is to try to make a main post on any new things that pops up in a comment.

And this post is meant to be a starter, so to speak, for anyone who had more to say on the subject of how very different our lives would have been if we’d been born 100, 150, 200 years ago.

The comment about it not being food if it comes in through a car window made me laugh, bu the fact is I was an adult before I ever ate fast food. I was in my teens before I knew someone who ate at MacDonald’s. Food at home came from whole foods prepared by my mother except for a few things like bread (white) and cookies.

9 Responses to If you lived 150 years ago….

  1. T. L. Haddix says:

    When I was growing up in the 1980s, eating out was a treat. It was a tradition that we would go to Pizza Hut or Long John Silver’s every weekend, usually after church, and get something. This is a tradition my husband and I still stick to somewhat, although we do eat out more through the week than we should. With my gluten-free diet, though, that has been cut down quite significantly.

    How about this – who can remember the milk man??? I can!

  2. Oh, I can not only remember the milk man – I can remember the milk man’s horse! My mother was Canadian, our family visited relatives in Canada every summer as our vacation. In one of those towns milk was still delivered by horse and wagon when I was very small. I don’t know if any of you have ever heard about it, but basically the horses got to where they knew the route and would without direction pull the wagon along that route, stopping for the right amount of time at all the necessary places. It was pretty fascinating to watch.

    My family didn’t eat out much either, and we didn’t eat pre-prepared food at all. Now that most of my dinners are frozen ones that I microwave, I sometimes think of that with guilt.

  3. mesadallas says:

    I was born in 1960 and was the oldest of 6 kids. Going out for a hamburger was something we did perhaps three or four times per year. My mother cooked all of our meals from scrath. Funny but I used to think that we didn’t eat out because we must be poor but now I know it was because my mother believed in home-cooked meals. I also took my own lunch in my Barbie lunch-box. Once or twice a month I got to buy lunch. Our cafeteria also cooked the meals from scratch and they were real meals- bot the pre-cooked nuggets and absolute crap that’s fed the kids nowadays in school. A hot lunch cost .35 cents.

    When I was raising my sons we did eat out sometimes but I also usually prepared a meal from scratch. Nowadays I am just aghast at what passes for a regular diet for kids. As a teacher I see it on a daily basis and I can tell you that the majority of my second-grade students breakfast and dinner is fast food three to four times per week. The lunches served in the cafeteria are mostly processed, high fat items. At my school 90 percent recieve free lunch. Even the few who bringh lunch bring almost nothing but junk- a coke and a huge family size bag of Doritoes. When I teach the unit on nutrition my students have no clue what a grain is or can even identify vegatables such as cauliflower. I just shake my head.

    When I was raising my sons we would eat out, but not

  4. mesadallas says:

    oops- so sorry for typos. It’s getting harder to see what I’m typing without wearing my reading glasses.

  5. What you say about food in schools is interesting to me. Just from what I’ve heard on tv and radio, I thought schools were all concentrating on healthy foods out the wazoo these days and was imagining it the way it was when I was in high school – we all ate in the cafeteria, but none of us ate the school’s food – very uncool. There’s no question the average American diet these days is awful.

  6. mesadallas says:

    I can’t speak for all schools but from what I observe at my own school I’m just disgusted at what passes for nutrition. For instance, one hot lunch served is the “nacho” lunch. This consists of a handful of corn chips with a spoonful of the canned processed cheese sauce on top. Something that really gets my goat is that the kids have the choice between 1% white milk or chocolate milk. The 8 ounce serving of chocolate milk has 27 grams of added sugar which is equivalent to 9 teaspoons of sugar. The daily recommended limit for sugar is about 40 grams which means that the container of chocolate milk has a huge amount of the daily sugar allowance all by itself. We have 920 students and each day we serve about 100 white milks but almost 700 chocolate milks. Can you imagine giving a kid a glass of milk and then adding 9 teaspoons of sugar?

  7. So all this we hear about poor kids needing school food to get at least one nutritious meal is a bunch of b.s.? I shouldn’t be surprised.

  8. mesadallas says:

    Well, once again I can’t speak for every school in every part of the nation but here in Arizona if a certain percentage of the school is on free lunch the school qualifies to have a summer lunch program when school isn’t in session. Any child between the age of 2-17 can come eat a breakfast and a lunch for free. he idea behind this was that the children who receive free lunch would be going hungry all summer. Anyway, almost NO ONE shows up. I can’t tell you how many times I have watched the cafeteria prepare food for several hundred children and have only about 12 come to eat. The rest of the food is then thrown in the trash and the next day they do it all over over again. Prepare for several hundred, serve a dozen and throw away the rest- and all of it is paid for by the good old U.S. Taxpayer. I remember once a boy of about 15 asking for seconds on meatballs,(the rule was no seconds- each kid got the same amount of food regardless of their age- and you know how teen-age boys eat). The cafeteria workers would not give him any more yet an hour later I watched them putting about 500 meatballs down the garbage disposal.

    Don’t even get me started on the fact that about 40 percent of the students at my school who receive free lunch are the children of illegal aliens.

  9. Okay, I’ll admit I’ve had a cold this week, the first one in several years and I’m feeling sorry for myself. That led to sitting around thinking about the whole thing and to wondering how truly miserable even a cold must have been back in Cord and Anne’s time.

    My trash is full of entire boxes of used Kleenex. They are the kind that have lotion in them and my nose could still guide a sleigh on a foggy Christmas Eve. What did people do back then? Did they keep a spare bolt of some kind of soft cloth in a trunk somewhere so that they’d have enough hankies to make it through an illness before they felt up to the kind of work doing laundry involved? And can you imagine washing a ton of used hankies?

    Maybe I don’t feel so sorry for myself after all.

Leave a Reply

