Cover

Okay, I posted another cover, and I must admit unless everyone who sees it shrieks that they hate it, I’m probably not going to be dissuaded from this one. The only thing I’m still contemplating is the lettering. This is pretty orange and kind of hits you. Did a peach version I like a lot, but the title isn’t quite as clear against the sky, and did a dark brown version I liked even more, nice quiet conservative look, but while in larger sizes, my name in dark brown showed up well at the bottom, in this thumbnail size it didn’t show at all. So right now – orange but I may switch to the peach.

 

11/10 – Thanks everybody. I’m content with it myself although as a chronic fiddler I’ll probably play with the lettering some more, but I won’t change the silhouettes.

26 Responses to Cover

  1. Christina says:

    I love it, Ellen, even the orange writing. This new one is a winner.

  2. Thanks for the encouraging word. I now have all the graphics for the interior done and so it’s just a matter of hearing back from the last beta readers, doing any tweaking and proofreading. I’m getting antsy. ~ Ellen

  3. Paige says:

    Very nice… I like it but it looks like it’s a sequel to “Eyes”. Yes, I wish it were the sequel. I hope you write one.

  4. Paige says:

    Both of those books will look great on my bookshelf.

  5. mesadalas says:

    YES, YES, YES! It’s just perfect! I love everything about it!

  6. Christina says:

    OK You proofreaders…………git er done!! I want to read Sing My Name. I would have loved to be a proofreader but with my Dad’s death I simply did not have time. I am still not finished with all of the business related to his death.

  7. mesadalas says:

    I’m geting there! Should be finished in about a week.

  8. One of my beta readers is done and has reported in and another called me this morning. She’s through the first 1/3 and gave me a report on that much. So I’m getting there. ~ Ellen

  9. Christina says:

    This is OT, but I don’t see any place else to ask. Ellen, do you think you will ever write a Contemporary?

  10. paula says:

    love the cover…cannot wait …check Amazon each morning to see if it has arrived…promised to alert all my friends. Your covers are like your work..unique and original!

  11. Paula – Thanks so much for posting and saying such nice things! You can relax for at least a week as I haven’t heard from my last beta reader yet. ~ Ellen

  12. Christina says:

    Ellen, will you try and promote Sing My Name on the Amazon Forums? The Gang seems to leave the HistoricaL Romance Forum alone.

  13. paula says:

    Ellen, your covers of silhouettes are perfect. I hate picking up a book with a face plastered across the cover that sticks with me thoughout the storyline. I love being able to visualize the person from the descriptive way you bring them to life. The silhouette covers allow the reader to bring them alive from the inside out.

  14. Hi Paula – I must admit the cover for Eyes came about because I found an image of the cowboy leaning against the shed that really spoke to me. And manipulating it into a cover was something I had the software to be able to do. However, since it was such a success, I did deliberately go looking for something that could make a silhouette cover again for Sing.

    I know what you mean about a face on a cover spoiling things. I remember the Fabio days clearly, and he was very much not my type. The new fad in covers of faceless torsos doesn’t do it for me either, though. Well muscled naked male torsos appeal to me as much as the next female, but it doesn’t take many before you get that “seen one seen them all” feeling. Or at least it didn’t for me.

    ~Ellen

  15. I intend to promote Sing pretty much the same way I did Eyes except I won’t do a thread with the name of the book on the HR forum since that evidently caused so many of The Gang such agony. I don’t really give a rat’s patootie about their feelings, but I do about Amazon’s. I heart Amazon.

    It’s also increasingly my impression that promotional mentions of a book on the forums doesn’t do as much as readers who like the book saying so here and there and telling their reading friends. Every once in a while there’s a sales spike and I look and look. Most of the time I can’t figure out why, but once in a while I find a mention someplace I never heard of before.

    ~Ellen

  16. Paige says:

    Ellen, I loved Eyes and I can’t wait to buy Sing My Name. Would you be willing to let your fans read an excerpt of Sing just so we can have a little taste? Thanks so much.

  17. Hi Paige – In other circumstances my answer would be yes, but formatting an excerpt and getting it on the website would take time I’m not willing to use for other than what I’m doing now – proofing and formatting to publish the Kindle version. I heard from my last beta reader last night and am going over the manuscript with those comments in mind. Then I’m going to print the whole thing and start proofing, which will probably take 2 days. Then a day to format and I’ll upload – so the upload to Amazon should be this weekend and the book should be available sometime next week unless it hits snags the others didn’t. Hang on. ~Ellen

    P.S. If you are a paperback only reader, it will be another couple of weeks before I can get the paperback out. I can format it and get it to Create Space much quicker than that, but then I have to receive and approve a proof copy (and the holiday mail rush is going to affect that), then CS has to send it to Amazon and it seems to take a little longer for paperbacks to appear on Amazon than for ebooks. In that case, you’ll be able to download the Smashwords sample in pdf if you want to. I haven’t decided yet, but I think I’ll set 25 or 30% of the book as the free sample on Smashwords and I’ll get that up first thing after I upload to Amazon, then start formatting the paperback. E

  18. Paige says:

    Wow, you are a very busy lady. I saw this cover online and I thought of you. I think this cover is very similar to yours and the style you are looking for.

  19. Yeek, you scared me. I thought, oh, no, Ruth Ann used my cover, but it’s the same style, not the same. As my mother used to say, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. ~Ellen

  20. Christina says:

    I noticed on the Amazon Forums that Ruth Ann Nordin had recommended Eyes to someone. Perhaps she liked the silhoutte concept and tried it for her own novel. Her cover is lovely , but does not really convey that the novel is a historical.

  21. Christina says:

    This week? Hooray! I trust you will let us know on here when Sing My Name is available for sale. I am soooooooooooo ready.

  22. Christina says:

    I went back and checked the publication date of Ruth Ann Nordin’s book. She published that in April 2010, so my theory is wrong.

  23. I’m very grateful to Ruth Ann for the boost she gave me when Eyes first came out. She has a lot of fans, and she recommended Eyes to them. She also bought several extra copies to give to friends. Since she is well established and does have so many fans her covers may not need to convey “historical” as much as mine, or she may have decided on something different for other reasons. That cover also shows people shadowed but not totally dark silhouettes.

    I must admit I like romantic covers like that as opposed to the half naked people or woman in exotic dress type.

    However, Ellen Fisher, another romance author, once posted somewhere that when she put a romantic cover on one of her books it didn’t sell well. She switched to the naked guy torso and it did much better. I feel a cover like that would be false advertising for my books, but hers are by her own definition spicy. ~Ellen

  24. Yes, it looks like neither of us flattered the other cover-wise, it was just a case of great minds thinking alike. ~Ellen

  25. Paige says:

    I know I mentioned this Cover Contest a while back when I entered Eyes of Silver, Eyes of Gold in this contest. Now that Sing My Names has been released I suggest that we show Ellen our support and nominate Sing My Name in the cover contest too. http://www.covercafe.com/nomination.shtml

Leave a Reply

