Contemporary Romance

Christina asked if I’d ever do a contemporary, and I’m starting a new post on the subject in case anyone wants to talk about contemporaries. My answer is probably not. I hardly ever read contemporaries and have to admit that’s in good part because in my own life I don’t see much that makes me able to believe in the HEA aspect. I tend to feel that however romantic and wonderful the story is, strife and divorce lurk a few years down the road. So I’m a contemporary cynic. No matter how awful it may have been in a lot of cases, in the good old days, once you were married, you were very much married for better or for worse until death did you part. The incentive to make something good of it had to be a lot more powerful.

7 Responses to Contemporary Romance

  1. McD says:

    I read right across the romance spectrum from historicals through to paranormal/fantasy. Contemporary is not one of my favourites, because as Ellen said it tends to mimic real life too closely. And who needs that?

    Having said that though, one of my favourite authors is Susan Elizabeth Phillips who writes some of the best romance, contemporary or otherwise.

  2. Christina says:

    “Contemporary is not one of my favourites, because as Ellen said it tends to mimic real life too closely. And who needs that?”

    I agree,McD. I read for the escapism factor. I have very few Contemporaries on my Kindle. Most of those are by Linda Howard. One of the things that annoys me the most by Contemporaries is that the H and h always jump into bed almost as soon as they meet. I am not a prude , but I don’t believe in doing that. I have tried Christian Romance but except for a handful of Authors they want to preach me a sermon throughout the whole novel and I don’t like that either.

  3. I haven’t tried Christian Romance but did read some thrillers from a Christian press. They were decent stories and I don’t know if it was just me or reality, but the religious background in the first one didn’t bother me at all and by the time I got to the third one I did feel preached to and had had enough (they were all by the same author). So I don’t know if the religious theme got stronger in each book or if it just began to rub on me.

    As to the reality in contemporaries. I didn’t mean that I dislike the reality in the stories themselves. One of the things that irritates me in all romances is the lack of of reality – you know the women you follow on months’ long adventures who never have a menstrual cramp. The reason I have trouble with contemporaries is my own perception of future reality – beyond the HEA of the book – which is to say in our society in modern times, something will go wrong and divorce will result.

    So I read a historical and envision the H/h growing old together and having kids and grandkids, but I read a contemporary and I see the H/h getting sick of each other down the road, divorcing, having custody battles, and finding new “great loves.” Too bad I feel that way, but I do.

    ~ Ellen

  4. Christina says:

    Ellen, have you ever read Cry No More by Linda Howard? I can see that H and h having a happily-ever-after. It is one of the few that I liked.

    I do agree that the mindset today seems to be to head to divorce court as soon as a bump in the road comes along. That’s a pity because no matter who you marry there are always bumps in the road.

  5. I haven’t read anything by Linda Howard but have seen her recommended a lot. So I went and looked and since Cry No More is available for Kindle, downloaded a sample. My reading has been half an hour or so at bedtime lately, and samples are the perfect size. Of course when I hit one that catches my interest…. ~Ellen

  6. Christina says:

    I hope the Sample of Cry No More does it justice. It is one of my favorites, but parts may be depressing to some people.

  7. Well, I got the sample of Cry No More, and found out I’m wrong, I have read Linda Howard before because I’ve read that book before. One more indication I’m getting foggier and foggier with age. But I also have to say I don’t remember it as a romance, more of a quest type suspense or at least not romance, but of course since I didn’t remember it until reading a bit of it…. ~Ellen

Leave a Reply

