Uploaded!

12/4 – Well, oops. Sing is sure enough showing up in genre categories, but one of them happens to be Historical Fiction. It’s sneaked into the Top 100 of that category, which is why I know it’s there, and before every historical fiction fan in the Amazon universe gets p.o.’d at me, I think I’d better see if there’s a way to get it out of there. I am absolutely sure I put it in Historical Romance, but it’s probably more likely that I screwed up than that Amazon’s database is wrong.

12/3 – Sing is finally showing up in genre categories on its product page. I think this is the last thing that needed to start showing on the page.

12/1 – After another delay because of furnace problems, I got Sing uploaded to Smashwords, and for those who need EPUB, lrf, or want pdf,  it’s now available there.

11/29 – I’m even more dilatory than expected. It snowed here last night and so rather than drive my toy car on the roads to the library to upload the Smashwords version of Sing today, I’ve put it off until tomorrow. (Probably I’ve mentioned it here before, but I only have dial up internet at home and while it seems to be able to download anything given enough time, uploads are corrupt too often for me to take chances with files to publishers. So I take my netbook to the library and use their high speed wifi connection.) I have made good progress on formatting the paperback version and am about a third of the way through with that.

11/28 – I changed the setting for Comments so they just go down in a straight line in order made. I know I’ll like this format better. Hope everyone else does too.

I finished the Smashwords version of Sing last night. Am fighting a temptation to go back and edit some of my own predictions of when I’d get what done below, but maybe leaving it will help me be more accurate in the future. Part of the problem is I just hate what SW requires – a plain Word document they put through a converter. And I sell very few copies through SW but think it’s nice to make the book available in formats for those who have Sony ereaders, Nooks, Kobos and others, so I do it. I’ll get to the library and upload the SW version tomorrow and it will be on their site if I remember right in a day or two after that. Then all that’s left is the tedium of formatting for the paperback, but I don’t dislike it as much as the SW formatting because the end result is something attractive.

11/25 – The description is now on the product page, and I got the website updated, although by the time I finished it was really the 26th.

11/24 – Still no description on the product page. Thanks to all of you who have already bought a copy anyway. I’m not going to put a mention in any of the indie promo threads in the Amazon forums, Kindle Boards, or Mobile Reads until the description comes up. I don’t have the promised Afterword on the website yet. Should get that done sometime today.

11/23 – 3 p.m. Mountain Time – Sing comes up on a search of the title, although there is no description on the product page yet.

I uploaded Sing My Name to Amazon’s DTP about 2 p.m. today. As I remember, Eyes and RR were for sale and ready to go within three days. With the holiday I have no idea what will happen, but the Kindle version of Sing is now on its way.

For tonight I’m resting on my laurels, but tomorrow I’ll work on the Smashwords version (SW puts out versions that can be read on Sony, Nook, and Kobo ereaders). Once that’s done, I’ll turn to the formatting for the paperback.

For those who don’t know (and might care), I format my own books for the Kindle using html and MobiCreator. That allows me to upload a file that doesn’t need conversion. In fact I put the book on both my K1 and K3 last night and paged through. Call me persnickety, but I want my ebooks to have chapters start on new pages and a bit down the page and to have some other niceties (and I did master the Navigation Points that work for K2 and K3!). Smashwords requires upload of a very plain Word document that they then run through their converter they call the “Meat Grinder.” Gives you shivers to think about it, doesn’t it? It gets the job done, I suppose, but if you have a Kindle, I highly recommend for the same price, you get your books from Amazon. Of course if you want a large sample, SW does allow the author to set the percentage of the sample up to 50%, which is a plus.

I’m off to go sit with my feet up and actually read someone else’s book for a change.  ~ Ellen

32 Responses to Uploaded!

  1. McD says:

    Congratulations, Ellen. Hope ‘Sing My Name’ is a huge success for you.

  2. Laurie Osborne says:

    Yippee!! I cannot wait for it to post at Amazon!

  3. mesadallas says:

    And I promise you will love it, ladies!

  4. Paula says:

    Counting the minutes…Great news that Sing my Name is on the way….best holiday treat for all your loyal fans…

    Happy Holidays!

  5. Paula says:

    Just downloaded Sing My Name onto my Kindle..searched by title and was thrilled when it appeared….I totally agree with Laurie…’Yipeeeee!’

  6. Christina says:

    Good news. I am headed to Amazon right now.

  7. Laurie Osborne says:

    Got it. Truly a nice reason to give thanks.

    Laurie

  8. Christina says:

    I started Sing last night. Son was watching football and I hate that so I read. First impression is that this H and h are as far diffferent from Cord and Ann as you could have gotten. Not sure if I like them yet or not. Sarah talks too much and is too whiney for my tastes so far. And Matt is one of the most naive Heroes that I have ever read at this point. I’ll let you know if my feelings change as the book progresses.

  9. I’ll be interested to hear what you think when you’ve finished. IMO Matt is a polar opposite to Cord, but I worried that Sarah might be too like Anne. I started out to make her a much softer character, but she got away from me. Evidently I can’t do soft female protags. Of course, if you find you don’t like the story or characters, please don’t make yourself read it all. ~Ellen

  10. Lea says:

    I was unfortunate enough to be stuck home with the flu on Thanksgiving but fortunate enough to have your new book to keep me company. And what wonderful company it was! So different from other books out there. I loved the characters, I loved the story. Thank you for another great read.

  11. mesadallas says:

    Just read the afterward of Sing. I really liked it, Ellen but I prefere the way you ended Sing when you did. I think you made the right choice in whether or not to include it in the novel itself and let us download the alternate ending as sort of an extra treat.

    I don’t see Sarah as whiney at all. She came across to me as a very strong emotional character. Cord and Matt are two very different people and thank heaven for that! Reading about the same hero over and over again would be pretty boring.

  12. I hope you’re feeling better now. Thank you so much for letting me know you liked it. Needless to say I’m on tenterhooks waiting for feedback and to see how readers react. ~Ellen

  13. The problem with the Afterword I realized after I did it that way is that most people are going to download it, and it will become the ending, but there it is.

    I really, really wanted these characters to be different and was sure I got it with Matt but less sure about Sarah. Readers see what they see in characters so I’m eager to hear how different people feel about it. ~Ellen

  14. Paula says:

    Ellen,
    Absolutely loved Sing My Name…didn’t think you could equal Eyes of Silver but you did! The way you can bring such emotion into something as simple as her holding his sleeve while he slept…such a talent evoking such a range of emotions as we read. I sure hope you have another story simmering on the back burner…you are rapidly becoming my favorite author of all time!

  15. Paula – What a truly nice thing to say. Are you by any chance the one who posted the review on Amazon? The initial P and the equaling Eyes makes me wonder. If so, thanks so much for taking the time to do that, and I’m glad that after all that anticipation you enjoyed the book. ~ Ellen

  16. Paula says:

    That was me…I only regret that I was unable to put into words the depths you can write into the smallest of things…

  17. Thanks again. You have no idea how much things like that help and not just for sales as you might think. When I was finishing Sing and banging my head against something and considering just walking away from the computer for the day, sometimes I’d go reread some of the reviews of Eyes. That would give me the incentive I needed to dig in and work through whatever was giving me difficulty in the new book. ~ Ellen

  18. Christina says:

    I am now about three fourths finished. Sarah certainly developed a backbone at the trial. But Ann would have mopped the floor with her. 🙂 I still don’t care for Matt very much. Even though he was in the Civila War and in prison he seems to be rather weak to me. If he loves Sarah and his daughter he should not be so afraid to try at a life with them. After all she has endured at this point Sarah and Little Laurie too deserve tht much. Right now I am not liking Matt Much at all.

  19. Christina says:

    MesaDallas, I agree that reading about the same exact Hero over and over would be boring, but there were ao mny qualities in Cord that I loved that I doubt that Ellen will ever be able to create another Hero that I like as well. Maybe I had best not write a Review for Sing because I could never rate it as highly as I did Eyes. Eyes grabbed me from the first page and never let go. I have not had that same punch with Sing.

    And at the beginning when they are first attacked by Comanches and during the run afterward 9which I felt was too drawnout) Sarah was whiney IMO. She changes later, which was quite believable considering all she had to endure.

  20. Christina – I’ve always admired your guts, so you say whatever you think and if you don’t like Matt or this story that’s just the way it is. Everybody’s different, and I suspected because you liked Cord so much that you wouldn’t like Matt.

    Do you think if you posted what you don’t like to the Romance forum they’d pull your shill card? 🙂 ~Ellen

  21. McD says:

    Ellen,
    ‘Sing My Name’ was simply fabulous. Loved it more than ‘Eyes’. Matt is my type of hero – actually I think I’m in love. Sarah, though different to Anne, was again a wonderful strong heroine.

    This one I think was written even better than ‘Eyes’. And I have to mention that the love scenes are beautiful – and not overly explicit. You display real talent there. And as Paula mentioned, the simple act of holding Matt’s sleeve was very evocative.

    Congratulations. And 41/2 stars from me.

  22. One of my favorites from among my mother’s many sayings was – if we all liked the same thing, we’d all be standing in a long line in front of one man.

    I’m really glad you liked Sing and aren’t telling me I need to beef up the love scenes. As you know, I have to get half drunk to write even such mild ones. I’d probably have to take some horrible drug to write “spicy.” ~ Ellen

  23. Paula says:

    thanks for starting my morning off with a good laugh…best forget the ‘spicy’…we need you in top form..

    Glad that McD saw the same thing many of us did, it is the touching parts of your storylines that send us scrambling for your books…but from reading your responses in this forum, I would love to see more of that ‘Ellen’ humor sprinkled throughout your stories…You’re as much fun to read in our time as you are in your western romance world.

  24. mesadallas says:

    Fair enough, Christina.

  25. McD says:

    I agree Paula, that was one of the main attributes I loved so much about Matt – his sense of humor. I love a man that can make me laugh. So thanks (again) Ellen.

  26. Christina says:

    I am and forever will be a devotee of the strong, silent Hero and the feisty spit-in-your-eye heroine. Eyes is still my Favorite. I never took to Matt, I did finally appreciate Sarah’s strength and loved little Laurie.

    Ellen, No matter what I wrote The Gang at Amazon will forever see me as a Shill. O La La 😉 I will write a Review, but you probably won’t be too surprised by it. Months ago you told me that I would not like Matt and you were correct.

  27. See? I judged you as constant, whereas I’m starting to feel like a promiscuous woman. Or at least a promiscuous author. I was in love with Cord when I wrote Eyes, and I fell in love with Matt when I wrote Sing. No constancy at all. ~Ellen

  28. Christina – I just read your review. Thanks for taking the time. I wish you’d liked it better, but that’s the way it goes, and I appreciate your honesty. Maybe next time. ~Ellen

  29. Christina says:

    You fickle woman! How could you love both of them? 😉 I always try to be honest with my Reviews. Sorry about Sing My Name, but the thoughts expessed were honest ones. I will still be reasy to purchase your next novel. But you might never get Five Stars from me again. If you remember I told you that I absolutely fell for FRTS. I have read all of Laura Kinsale’s other novels and have not liked any of tham as well as FRTS. That may happen with you and Eyes.

    BTW, have you noticed that I am into the fray once more on behalf of Indie Authors over at Amazon Discussion Forums. That option was not available when I wrote my books and I wish it had been. I don’t like the snobbish attitude against Indie authors in general and love bickering with them over it.

  30. Hmm. I’m thinking of seeing if I change the settings on this blog to not allow layers of replies in comments if things would just go down in a straight line all at the same level and be easier to follow.

    Anyway, I know what you mean, Christina. My favorite author of all time is Dick Francis. He’s gone now, but I’ve reread his books every 5 years or so all my life. He wrote over 20 mystery/thrillers. There’s one I won’t reread at all because it’s too dark. I don’t like the story or the hero. Then there are a few that are favorites.

    You are right about the snobbish attitude in the Romance forum. And they’re lying in their teeth about if an indie author participates, stays in the promo thread and just mentions their book when it fits they don’t object. That’s what I did. And I had trouble participating almost from the beginning because they’d take issue with anything I said. You can’t convince me that wasn’t because I’m an indie and they knew it.

    Then when Eyes got popular enough other people mentioned it in threads where people were looking for a certain kind of book regularly, I stopped mentioning it myself at all, but started holding my breath. And you weren’t the only one who recommended it by a long shot. I knew seeing an indie book recommended regularly was revving their engines. And of course when whoever it was made that thread…. The minute I saw that thread I knew how it would go. One of the things that irritates me the most is that they think I’m stupid enough to have initiated that thread knowing what they’re like over there.

    The second thing that had me grinding my teeth was the ones who said I should “control” my fans. I’m one of those bitter clinging God and guns Americans, and I’m damn well not “controlling” anyone, even if I could. The suggestion makes me want to spit in someone’s eye.

    I suppose in the end it made me a more sympathetic person. Whenever I would hear of teenagers who supposedly commit suicide over cyber bullying or do other rash things, I’d think. Oh, for Pete’s sake, all you have to do is not read it. I’m not saying it had anything like that effect on me, but it was emotionally devastating, and it gave me sympathy I didn’t have before for the effect it can have on people. Perfect strangers attacking you for things that aren’t true and you know fighting back will make it worse and have to sit there on your hands….

    Enough about history, but I’ve got to say I don’t wish those people well and I’m cheering for those who are giving them a hard time even though I feel it wouldn’t be smart of me to try it. ~Ellen

  31. Christina says:

    Ellen, I laughed at the comments over there about you controlling me. I am a Southerner with all that entails. Nobody controls me. Ask my son. LOL I think I too frequently embarrass him when we are in public together. 🙂

  32. Laurie – Wow! Thanks so much for your review. I know it had to be time consuming for you to do, but it’s absolutely the best kind of review – detailed and about the story without telling the story. ~Ellen

Leave a Reply

