AAR Poll

One More Thing: Tomorrow is the day Deb Martin is going to post the author panel where authors (8 as I remember) reveal how they came up with the titles for their books. Two Ends of the Pen.

The Original Thing: I got the following email yesterday and am assuming it’s okay to post the whole thing here, not just the link.

Subject: All About Romance (likes books dot com)’s Annual Poll for favorite 2010 books begins today

Ms. O’Connell:  Please feel free to post the contest link on your website, newsletter and/or Facebook page:  http://www.likesbooks.com/ballotannualpoll2010.htm

And don’t forget that you can vote too!

Ms. Lee Brewer
AAR Publisher Liaison and Pollster

Because I’m not familiar with the poll, I used the questions link and asked them if this poll is only for books first published in 2010 and also about the requirement that a participant vote for six books/authors. This is the answer I got to that:

Ms. O’Connell –

I’m so glad you’re participating in this year’s poll!  To answer your questions:

1. The poll only covers books first published in 2010.  So, your favorite read would be a book that had its first publication in 2010 (i.e. not a reissue of a 1978 historical, etc..)

2. With regard to the 6 rule, you just need to include 6 different books.  If you have 6 books by 3 authors, that should be okay.  We just had to start using that rule because some folks were trying to plug one book into all categories whether it really fit or not.

Hope this helps!

As I’ve mentioned before, the chances of me doing anything on Facebook are absolutely zero, and I’ll have to see if there’s a way to put something on my website, but at least it’s easy to mention it here. Needless to say, I’m a big fan of AAR, and am more than willing to promote anything of theirs in any way I can.

And of course I’m sure anyone who reads this blog has too much sense to try entering one book in all the categories, but I wonder if any of you will be able to participate at all. I must admit I’ve never been one to pay any attention to when a particular book was published, and I’ve never kept notes on books I read. It was only after I started reading some of the book forums that I realized some readers take things that seriously.

I guess I can go back and see which of the romances I’ve read in 2010 were published in 2010, but I have no idea if I’ve read six that were first published in 2010, and can I say a particular one is the best in a category if it’s the only one I read that fits that category? Hmm. There is some discussion of this in their forum and some links were posted as to places where you can see lists of 2010 books.

~Ellen

23 Responses to AAR Poll

  1. mesadallas says:

    The last two “new releases” I’ve read are yours.

  2. Probably everyone (most everyone :)) reading this blog has read at least one of my books this year, but even if they liked one of mine enough to stick it in a category, that still leaves them 5 short for taking part in the poll. When I think about it, even looking at some of the lists of “what I’ve read this year” I’ve seen here and there, I wonder how many people have really read 6 romances that were released in 2010? An awful lot of lists include older books and so do recommendations. If you’re a Kindle reader, you may be be getting books that are new as ebooks but that were first put out in paper sometime ago. ~Ellen

  3. mesadallas says:

    Yep, that’s my problem. With the exception of your books everything I’ve read is before 2010. I think six books is a little too many for the requirement. Two should be sufficiant.

  4. KristieJ says:

    Well, I’ll be voting. And while I can’t enter your books into EVERY category heh, heh, they will be qualifying for quite a few. Both blew me away in 2010.

  5. Paige says:

    You got my vote 🙂

  6. Hi KristieJ – Since you review on your blog, you obviously have records of how you felt about a book and know details like when it was published. So it seems like you can easily meet the requirements and you’re very much the kind of person who should be voting in a poll like this.

    Also, since you’re here, I’ve never been sure of the etiquette of thanking a reviewer or not. Somehow thanking someone for a good review doesn’t seem right. So let me say thank you for choosing my books to review in the first place, and I’m glad you liked them enough to say such great things.

    Paige – Thanks. I take it that means you’re another one who keeps records well enough to know you’ve read six 2010 books. I’ve thought it over and bet I have too. I know I read Kaki Warner’s Pieces of Sky and liked it enough to vote for it in some of those categories, but the others I can think of offhand include a couple I didn’t finish and a couple I wouldn’t vote for as best of anything. I’ll go through my Kindle to be sure.

    mesadallas – I think you and I are two of the same kind of “just read ’em” readers.

    ~Ellen

  7. mesadallas says:

    How long do you have to vote? I have Kaki Warner’s pieces of Sky in my TBR pile! I didn’t even realize it was a 2010 release. I’ll pull it out right now and start on it. That would give me three.

  8. Not very long – midnight February 6. ~E

  9. Paige says:

    OMG I read about 2 books a week. I know I read more than 6 new books last year. There were some great authors with new releases last year:
    Sandra Hill
    Catherine Coulter
    Renee Vincent
    Lorelie James
    Ellen O’Connell
    I read a lot of great new books last year:)

  10. In May, it will be 3 years since I got my first Kindle, and I have 256 books on it. Unlike some, I don’t have a TBR list. I download samples, read them, and then either buy the book and read it or delete the sample and forget it. I’ve never really counted, but I think I get as many books from the library as I buy for my Kindle every year. Let’s say I’m wrong about that by half, that would still be say 125 library books in that period for a total of 381, which I calculate (remember, everyone, my absolute wretchedness with math) means about 2.5 books a week.

    That’s not true on a consistent basis. There are times I read a book a day and others when I don’t read one a week, but that’s the average. However, I don’t read romance exclusively but also mystery, thrillers, suspense, general fiction, and non-fiction. I saw a post from someone who does keep records saying she read an equivalent number of books a year but only 23 were 2010 romances. Assuming she does read at least a majority of romances, I’m at least not unique in not having a long 2010 list. 🙂 ~Ellen

  11. P.S. I’m resolving to keep records and do better in the future. ~E

  12. mesadallas says:

    So when do you have time to write?

  13. mesadallas says:

    Books I mean.

  14. mesadallas – I try to write first thing after I’m up and get the dogs and horse fed, breakfast down, etc., telling myself I can’t do fun stuff until I’ve done that. Unlike those that rhapsodize about how writing is fun, etc., for me it’s hard work and I’ve a tendency to find other things to do to avoid sitting down and doing it. Coming up with stories in my mind may be fun; organizing them and getting them into the computer in a way that makes sense to the rest of the world is something else. Reading other people’s books is one of the things I’ll do to procrastinate, so I have to be firm with myself and even then fail all too often. ~Ellen

  15. mesadallas says:

    I know what you mean. I really need to get out and do some yard work. I’ve been meaning to do this for the last three Saturdays.Some people love working in there yard, but to me it’s just work. I should be out there right now getting some of it done but, instead I’m here at my computer checking out my favorite forums.

  16. mesadallas says:

    It’s Thursday morning and I am sitting in my classroom which is 50 degrees because the heat isn’t working.I’m trying to get ahold of my husband so he can bring a couple of space heaters from home. In the meantime I am wearing my new wool overcoat and have given my students permission to keep their coats on as well.

    The massive storm which has covered most of the States the last two days has caused our weather to plummet down to the 20’s. The wind is going about 30 miles per hour so we have had to leep the students inside.

    How are things in your neck of the woods.

  17. I didn’t realize the storm was causing trouble as far south as you, mesadallas. What we got here were record cold temperatures. Today was supposed to be the first decent day with temps close to freezing (the high 2 days ago was below zero) and sun. I woke up to snow and it’s been snowing all day and pretty nasty, although not much accumulation. January is always the worst month here in Colorado IMO, and this at least got started in January, so it’s no surprise.

    I think here the school people are so wussy they’d have closed if the heat wasn’t working and the classrooms got down to 50. They closed the schools over the cold early this week here except I think for Denver, and Denver made it optional to attend or not. They had someone on saying they provide the only decent meals for a lot of kids and so blah, blah. I don’t know about anyone else but the thought that people are depending on schools to feed their kids in America is plain depressing. So is the thought that it doesn’t take a blizzard, just cold temps, and schools close because kids are too delicate to get there. Sometimes it does feel like we’re circling the drain. ~Ellen

  18. mesadallas says:

    Yep, we’ve been feeling the fallout effect of the monster storm for the past few days now. This time of year the average high is 70 but our high for the last few days has been 40 with the nights in the 20’s.

    I guess I shouldn’t complain too much though since 40 probably sounds pretty good to a lot of people.

    I wish I could have closed school- would have loved a day off- but it was just my classroom that was having heating problems. They brought in a space heater for me yesterday which brought the class up to about 68 which was tolerable. They fixed the problem last night so we were toasty warm today.

    I’m really surprised to hear Colorado closes school just over cold weather. They sure should be used to rough winters. I lived in Idaho for four years. It was usually ten below with snow up to the waist and can’t remember a time when school was closed. We were expected to get our kids there no matter what.Somehow I always assumed Colorado was the same when it came to making it to school during the winters.

    School lunches a decent meal? Has this guy ever eaten one? It’s nothing but fat, sugar, and processed food.

  19. I think this recent closure over cold is a new, never-before-seen level of wussiness. Sometimes it’s hard to believe the level of hysteria these days over the most ordinary things. Two inches of snow! World coming to an end!

    I’m with you on the whole feeding kids in school thing, but it’s no one’s fault but our own – by that I mean the general population that increasingly wants government to do everything including blow our noses for us. How did descendants of the Cord and Anne Bennetts and Matt and Sarah Slades of not that long ago turn into what we’ve turned into?

    Have you ever read McCullough’s “John Adams?” It was a real eye-opener for me as to what they went through to do some of the things they did and how they just kept trucking and did them anyway. ~Ellen

  20. mesadallas says:

    If you think Colorado has turned into a state of pansies you should see them in Seattle. I lived there for many years and if there were even flurries in the air not only was school closed but everyone went into panic- mode. The area gets snow about once every three years which means Seattlites have no clue how to drive in it. One inch of snow and they all rush to put on chains.

    I also wonder how our pioneer mothers and fathers would react if they could see our world today. It’s changed so much just since I reaised my own children. I guess in a nutshell government was allowed to do too much for people for too long. Welfare programs which should have been a hand -up with a cut-off date became a hand-out for life. When people don’t work for what they recieve it does’t take long for them to loose their ability to think of ways to solve their own problems and manage money. They become so conditioned to government handouts they not only loose their pride at being self-supporting but they come to think they are entitled to having someone else pick up the tab for their housing, food, medical, utilities, ect.

    Something that really gets to me is when I drive past the DES office and I see people waiting for their benifit appointments outside smoking. These people are in pleading that they are so poor they can’t feed or house their children, yet they seem to have enough money for smokes which are up to how much a package?

    Of course most people don’t live off of welfare so I’m probably just ranting about one componant of modern-day wussies. I guess a lot could be blamed on our standard of living going up just after the Second World War. As each proceding generation has had more material comforts than the preceeding one, they became more and more unused to having to rough it- doing more with less- tightening their belts during hard times- being content with what they had, ect.

    Something else I notice is how kids today are so babied they can’t even be kids. When I was a kid the park had merry-go-rounds, giant slides and teeter-totters. These have all been replaced with boring climbing equipment with foam at the bottom and mom hoovering by. I used to explore the woods, swing from trees, walk on the top of fences, jump my bike over garbage cans and heaven knows what else. I got my share of skinned kneees and stitches without my parents going ballistic. Last week I had a student who scratched the face of another student out at recess.It’s just a scratch, but the mother of the kid who got scratched is taking him to a plastic surgeon.

    I haven’t read John Adams but I think I should. I’ve heard many good things about it. Is this the book the mini-series was based upon? I still haven’t watched that but it is in my netflix list.

  21. Every time I take part in a discussion like this, I start to feel like my own grandmother. That’s because I remember her declarations that the world was going to hell in a handbasket many years ago, and now here I am doing it. Even so, some people who predict disaster have been right sometimes. I really believe not knowing history causes a lot of problems.

    I’m not familiar with a John Adams mini series except one that was on PBS enough years ago that I think it had to have been done before the book. Thomas Jefferson gets quoted a lot, and I think he’s a lot of people’s favorite Founding Father, but in my mind he was an incredible hypocrite. Adams had his faults but was a much more admirable person as was Washington. ~Ellen

  22. mesadallas says:

    Washington is also my favorite founding father. The more I learn about them the more I am in awe. Had he been a little younger, Ben Franklin would have made a fantastic president. As it is he was a man of incredible accomplishments that few other Americans have riveled.

    You aren’t the only one that now sounds like you are your own grandmother. I do a grat job telling my sons how to raise their kids.

    I went through my keeper boxes yesterday and looked at every publishing date. Believe it or not I found four books that were brand-spanking new publications in 2010. I went right to AAR and filled out my voting sheet. In the forum column there is a thread called “What Books Will You Be Voting On?” Your books have been mentioned more than once!

  23. No doubt about it, if Washington weren’t an extraordinary individual, this country would have started out as a monarchy.

    I used other people’s AAR lists to find some good reads. I copied out what they said were the best, looked them up on Amazon, and downloaded samples of the ones that sounded interesting. I read Fraser’s The Sergeant’s Lady (Napoleonic Wars), Kinsale’s Lessons in French (Britain, early 1800’s), and Balogh’s A Matter of Class (same). All were way above average IMO. Of course a lot of those listed were paranormal or something I don’t read and some got zapped at the sample stage, but even so it was a worthwhile experiment. ~Ellen

Leave a Reply

