Woo Hoo! Woo Hoo! — Almost

Today Paige was kind enough to let me know that there’s a review of Eyes at Dear Author. The rating isn’t that high (B-) and all the usual criticisms, most of which I concede :-), are there. However, when it comes to insight about what I saw myself as Cord’s character and the relationship between Cord and Anne (and even some of the secondary characters), this reviewer’s insights are spot on, and I liked the review a lot.

The almost part comes, of course, because there are Comments to the review and some of the usual haters (I like that word although I won’t use it in a historical again) popped up repeating their usual calumnies. Not everyone seems to be buying it, and there are no shrieks of shill, so I assume that kind of thing isn’t allowed there. On balance, I’m very pleased about the whole thing.

~Ellen

11 Responses to Woo Hoo! Woo Hoo! — Almost

  1. txbkworm says:

    Ellen,
    Went to the Dear Author site and read the Eyes exchange in full. So glad to see that Eyes and your budding talent continues to draw attention. It still amazes me, however, that a few insecure people will not accept that average readers, such as myself, will take the time to review a book we love. I take great delight in the fact that now when I and other book lovers start discussing great reads, your name usually pops into the conversation. Your sales should tell you and those doubting Thomas’ that there are a lot of true fans of Ellen O’Connell…due in a great part to Eyes.
    Continued success and more great reviews!!

  2. mesadallas says:

    Janet seems like a pretty tough reviewer. I think a B- from her is probably pretty good. I too, liked her review. She really did hit the nail on the head for character motivation and her use of excerpts to make her points was very effective. Any idea how or why she decided to review Eyes? Did yiu know she was going to review it?

    I’ve never heard of this site but obviously many others have including posters from amazon. In fact, while reading the comments I thought I WAS back on amazon. I guess Ridley is just meant to be your Dr. Moriarty. Unbelievable. I am glad, however, to see that readers who liked your books are also making positive comments. All-in all I’d say you deserve another Woo-Hoo!

    Oh, and before I forget- congratulations on the Woo-Hoo from the other day. I didn’t post on that thread but great job!

  3. txbkworm – Thanks for the comment and for letting me know about the good word of mouth among your friends. No matter what anyone says, I think that’s the kind of promotion that counts.

    mesadallas – I really liked the review. No, I didn’t know she was going to review it. If Paige hadn’t alerted me that it was out there, I never would have known. Janet said, maybe in a comment, that KristieJ put her on to it. KristieJ did a wonderful review sometime ago and posted hers on Goodreads. I’ve heard about Dear Author quite a lot but it’s not a regular site for me (I already spend too much time online).

    When I first read those comments, it almost spoiled it for me, but I’m starting to think that maybe those who are carrying this anti-Eyes obsession to such lengths are just making me look relatively sane.

    ~Ellen

  4. McD says:

    The Dear Author review was very good. But honestly I loved the pro-EoSEoG comments even more, especially that very last comment by Westernfan –

    “I guess they must also be part of some intricate marketing technique by Ms. O’Connell.”

    Hilarious!

    And wow Ellen you have youself a fan in Courtney Milan who is one of my very favourite historical romance authors.

    Yep. I’d say woo hoo!

  5. mesadallas says:

    McD, couldn’t agree with you more about all the great positive comments. You can be sure I’ll be checking Dear Author over the next couple of days.

  6. Hi McD – Needless to say I liked the written review more than the letter grade, but you’re right, some of those comments took the sting out of having the usual anti’s post their nastiness. I also liked that the reviewer seemed to rebut the “It’s bad writing because I don’t like it” attitude in the comments. I’m not saying it’s priceless prose, but the attitude of some people that because they don’t like something nobody else possibly can is pretty much contradicted every day by real life if you look around.

    Courtney Milan was nice enough to send me an email sometime ago saying she read Eyes and liked it. She’s on Kindle Boards too now (probably the most pro-indie and supportive of all the forums). She’s going to “go rogue” with either backlist or something new herself – can’t remember exactly – but I’m sure it will mean books from her for the Kindle priced better than the traditional pubs do.

    ~Ellen

  7. Elle says:

    I read that reviews at Dear Author today and the book sounded so good I had to go out and get it from Amazon. I’ve been reading it all afternoon and just finished it. I loved it and let me tell you, I was sad to see it end. I don’t read a lot of westerns but I felt in the mood for one and this hit the spot. It was wonderful! Thanks for the great read, I’m going to grab ‘Sing My Name’ next.

  8. Hey, Elle, thanks for stopping by and letting me know. Hope you do enjoy Sing My Name every bit as much. If you go to my website, you can find an extra chapter of both Eyes and Sing, and there’s also a short story I did recently that features Cord and Anne about three years after the ending of Eyes.

    If you get a chance, stop by again. I’d love to know how you feel about Sing My Name too.

    ~Ellen

  9. mesadallas says:

    Hi, Elle, and welcome. It’s really nice to meet another fan. Hope you post again.

  10. Elle says:

    So I read the addon to Eyes. Lovely! And got Sing My Name and the read the addon as well. The problem that I had was the distance between them for so long, but intellectually I could see that they needed that for the character growth so in the end I was okay with it because they were better and stronger for the distance. It’s just hard to see them apart when you know they belong together. Ellen, you pack a powerful punch with your stories and I really love how you tell a tale. It was fun for me to read stories that I wouldn’t in my regular course of book buying come across. So thanks to DA for bringing you to my attention. I’m bookmarking so I don’t miss your next western. So uhm…when is your next one coming out? No pressure. 😉

  11. Hi Elle – Thanks for letting me know you read and liked Sing too. I think if there were a way to poll everyone who has read both books, Eyes would be the favorite of most. It’s the one I get regular emails about telling me someone has read it 3 times or 5 times. Sing has its fans too, but I think fewer by the numbers. Of course it’s been out much less time.

    I’m grateful to Janet of Dear Author for doing that review and helping people like you who never would have heard about my books otherwise find them.

    The next romance will be out this year but I can’t give a very accurate forecast of when yet. Not very soon as I’m still working on the first draft. Once that’s done I’ll have a pretty good idea because that’s the part that’s the hardest for me. I could revise something forever, just pick, pick, picking, but getting the story from my head to the computer is work.

    ~Ellen

Leave a Reply

