Since you asked…

I’m sorry I’ve been missing in action the last few days (and won’t bore all of you with dog happenings). As you may remember, comments from people who have not commented before have to be approved, and there were a couple I didn’t get to very promptly, and of course I see the when! when! questions.

As it happens, yes, it may be Halloween. I uploaded to Create Space (which produces the paperback version) a couple of days ago. That version has been reviewed and approved there, and my proof copy is on the way to me. If the timing is the same as for the other books, I’ll get the proof in the middle of next week. I’ll do a final read-through on that myself. Even if I find things that need fixing (and I always have on the previous books), I’ll do those corrections and format for Kindle right away and upload ebook versions to Amazon and B&N within a day. Then it’s up to those sites how fast the book appears for sale.

It’s extremely encouraging to have readers waiting so eagerly for a book of mine. I sure hope when all is said and done you think it was worth the wait.

~Ellen

10 Responses to Since you asked…

  1. DallasE says:

    Thanks for the update Ellen. I’m sure it will be well worth the wait.

  2. Anonymous says:

    counting the days

  3. McD says:

    Counting the hours….

  4. Thanks, ladies. I worry that a story looked forward to at the hour level (I’d have to use a calculator) is bound to fail to meet expectations when it finally shows up, but then I can worry about anything given a minute to figure out an angle. It’s probably too late to be worrying about this one. It’s gonna show up when it shows up and people are gonna love it or hate it unless it’s unusual. So far my books don’t provoke much in-the-middle reaction.

    ~Ellen

  5. Noreen O'Donnell says:

    Ooh yea, I’ve been checking in every couple of weeks, lurking in the background. Can’t wait either. Like the title – nice surprise. Hope everything turned out ok with Victor.

  6. mesadallas says:

    They’re going to love it, Ellen.

    Ladies, it’s worth the wait.

  7. Noreen – Welcome and thanks for the feedback on the title. Victor seems to be feeling fine. He’s on 3 meds and scheduled for his first heartworm treatment on November 7. The hardest part comes after that as he has to be kept quiet from that time until the second treatment four weeks later and then quiet for another four weeks after the second treatment. At that point, if he’s heartworm free, he can begin to return to normal life. Enforced inactivity will be hard on him and on me, but we’ll do our best.

    Thanks, mesadallas. I sure hope at least everyone who liked the first 2 romances will like this one. For those wondering, mesadallas did a beta read for me, and I did do some revising based on the feedback I got from her and the other beta readers (five in all).

    ~Ellen

  8. Noreen says:

    I’m wishing you well with Victor as another foster caregiver – I do collies. I’ve not had a heart worm case, but other issues of course. Ultimately, it’s mostly rewarding, but when you’re in the middle of it all, it can be all consuming. Keep us posted.

  9. Hey, Noreen – Best wishes back to you. You’d probably be surprised how many people with all sorts of different breeds I’ve heard from who have adopted or who foster or rescue in some other way since I first published. Of course it’s my mystery centered around dog rescue that attracts them, but more readers than I expected cross over and read the romances too. I don’t know why that surprises me. It’s not like I believed I was the only cozy mystery and romance fan in the world, but when you narrow it down to dog mysteries and western historical romance….

    This is my first heartworm case. My rescue group had several of them earlier in the year. There was a big breeding operation in Texas shut down that brought over 200 Rottweilers into the system nation-wide, and Rottie Aid took 6 or 8. A couple were infected. One I know was in a foster home 8 months before being pronounced ready for adoption. I think it took 3 treatments for her. Heartworm isn’t much of a problem here in Colorado, so it usually is found in out-of-state dogs like that. Victor is from Arkansas.

    A couple of years ago I rehabbed 5 cruciate repair surgeries in less than 6 months. They had to be confined too, but with them, in the beginning the pain from the surgery gives some edge in slowing them down. Of course my own darling dog girl, Schara, would have been happy to run like an idiot on the surgical leg within a few days of the surgery except for her mean-minded nurse.

    ~Ellen

  10. MerviR says:

    Good to hear both about the book and about Victor. It’s fortunate that you get to complete the book before nursing duties take over. Can’t wait to make the order on Amazon. Best wishes!

    Mervi

Leave a Reply

