I’m Done!

Addition 10/31/11 – One thing I forgot to mention about Smashwords that Ava’s comment reminded me of – it’s a way for those in countries where the book is unavailable (or where there’s a “delivery fee” of as much as the price added on) to get books for your Kindle or other ereader. For Kindle you want the mobi format.

As of right now, the book is available for Kindle on Amazon and on Smashwords in other formats, including epub. A search didn’t bring it up on B&N yet.

==================

Well, almost. The DONE is that I uploaded Dancing on Coals to Amazon’s KDP for Kindle and to B&N’s PubIt for Nook earlier today. I also sent revised f iles to Create Space, which produces the paperback and distributes to Amazon. So my best guess is the book will be available to Kindle and Nook people in 2 or 3 days, and the paperback available to order in maybe 5-7 days.

Those of you who were here last year may remember how it went with Sing My Name. The product page on Amazon appears like the Cheshire Cat, little by little, so at first you see a skeletal version with no story summary and some of the usual features missing and gradually everything fills in. I’ve never gone directly with B&N before, so I’m not sure what to expect there, but I think it’s usually similar to Amazon. I read somewhere once that before you can find a new book by searching the title or author’s name on Amazon, you can find it by the identifying ASIN number Amazon uses, so if anyone wants to try that, the number is B0061FDRNA.

The “almost” is Smashwords. I’m working on that version now and will have it done before I go to bed tonight. I confess to a singular lack of enthusiasm. SW requires an upload in Word, which I hate, and then they convert, and the end product is never as pretty as the Amazon Kindle version I format myself and check out on my Kindle before uploading. This time I also checked the B&N epub file both in the reader on my PC and on my Kobo, which isn’t exactly a Nook, but the format is the same, and things looked good there. So my advice to the world is if you have a Kindle or Nook, get the book from Amazon or B&N. Settle for SW only if you have another reader. The book will be distributed by SW to Kobo (but I understand they’re so backed up they aren’t taking new books right now), Sony, Apple, and Diesel, but it takes weeks for those sites to get books from SW and get them up. So in spite of my prejudice, I will upload a plain vanilla file to SW. The one advantage there is the ability to set the sample size larger than Amazon’s 10%. I think I’m going to use 35% this time.

Happy Halloween!

~Ellen

22 Responses to I’m Done!

  1. Anonymous says:

    I am so excited. I love your books and can’t wait to read this one.

  2. mesadallas says:

    Ellen,
    I started a reply on amazon to thank you but I hit a button wrong and my message was sent before I ws finished.

    Yes, I have had my Kindle now for the last three weeks and you were so right; I just love it.

    I have been very, very busy with work for the past two weeks. I am in charge of the school Christmas program so I’ve been writing the program. In addition arizona has moved a lot of history standards from third to second grade so I have been creating curriculum units to cover colonial America, Revolutionary War, U.S. Constitution, and westward expansion to include Daniel Boone, Lewis and Clark , Oregon Trail, Gold Rush, Civil War, Trancontenental Railroad, Homestead Act, settlers and pioneers, Pony Express and ending with the land rush and closing of the frontier in 1890.

    It’s been a lot of fun as I love all of those time periods but it’s also been pretty time consuming. I’ve been putting in 12-14 hours every day as I have to work on thesr projects in addition to my regular teaching job. -that’s why I haven’t been on the boards lately.

  3. McD says:

    I’ve just downloaded Dancing on Coals from Amazon.
    I’m very excited to read this Ellen!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Wooohoooo, yes! yes! yes! been waiting and now …..so so excited

  5. Lorrie Moore says:

    I just bought Dancing on Coals I cant wait to start reading it.

  6. Paige says:

    Hello, I can’t wait to read about the character I got to name in this book Emma Grace Sandlin. Everyone look for her. I think Ellen said she’s towards the end of the book 🙂

  7. DallasE says:

    I just got it! Oh boy, oh boy!!!

  8. ava says:

    can’t get the kindle version “…Due to copyright restrictions, the Kindle title you’re trying to purchase is not available in your country: Switzerland.” 😦 and I was really looking foreward to this book…

  9. Anonymous says:

    I cant believe im going to say this……. I loved loved Sing and Eyes but………..

    I was disappointed with coals…. i’ll be honest, i expected her to be a virgin, that she wasn’t just ruined the story for me…. *Sigh* I’m prejudiced that way.

    Still wayyyy better that most books i’ve read recently but what can i say….

    I’m still a fan though

  10. Wow, less than 12 hours from upload to available on Amazon. That’s pretty impressive. Haven’t checked B&N yet, but since it’s a new account, I’m sure they’ll take longer.

    Anon – Since you’ve read Sing and Eyes, you know I’m not writing some variation of the same story and characters each time, so I expect some people who like one of my books not to like others, and I hope no one feels they can’t say so. Might as well warn you right now that the next story I have in mind the h isn’t a virgin either.

    Ava – You are one of the people Smashwords is for. Go to:
    http://www.smashwords.com – don’t search for the book by title, put my name in the search box (I made the mistake of labeling the book as having “adult content,” and when I searched the title got told the “prude filter” was on and I’m a prude). Since you have a Kindle, you download the book in mobi format, which is what Kindle uses. You then hook your Kindle to your PC with the USB cord that came with it and copy the mobi file to the Documents folder of your Kindle. I do that about a million times when I make the Kindle book in order to test it. If you have problems, let me know. We’ll work something out.

    Paige – I hope you like Emma Grace. Also I have a sneaking suspicion I never thanked you for the emails with the image references. Thank you.

    ~Ellen

  11. ava says:

    Dear Ellen
    Thx – will try SW… Greetings from Switzerland

  12. DallasE says:

    Finished it about midnight and I loved it. I can’t think of a thing to complain about. I’m sure I will read it again soon; although Cord and Anne are still my favorites!

  13. DallasE – Thanks for telling me that. Needless to say that makes me beam. I’m beginning to think that I’ll go to my grave still hearing a lot of people say that about Cord and Anne, but I guess trying to come up with another story and characters that affect people that way can be my mountain to climb.

    Dancing already has 2 reviews! If those readers are reading here, thanks. They are both thoughtful and hit right on what I heard from beta readers.

    ~Ellen

  14. DallasE says:

    Ellen,
    What really impresses me about your books is that there aren’t any errors that I’ve noticed. I can pay 2-3 times as much for a book from one of the big publishing houses and they are riddled with spelling, punctuation and formatting errors. I’m talking about on my Kindle. Sometimes it’s enough to just jerk me out of the story.

    I read the 2 reviews and I’m trying to formulate mine. It will take me a while.

    I suppose having people tell you how much your characters resonate with them is not a bad thing to have to deal with, LOL!

    DallasE

  15. alaetra says:

    @Ellen – you’re welcome for the review. I had been compulsively searching Amazon for the three days preceding Halloween for your book. You definitely did not disappoint although it wasn’t my favorite of your books. Thank you for putting out a story that you hadn’t told before since it was one I had never heard before either.

  16. alaetra – Thanks again. Maybe I’m wrong, but I always feel that the first reviews are the hardest to get, that they break the ice and others are more willing to write something after. I’m sure having read 3 of my books you can tell I’m trying to tell stories that haven’t been told before. I don’t want to put my own characters into standard romance tropes, and I don’t want to write the same book over and over just changing character names and settings. Of course maybe I’ll run out of stories pretty quickly this way and then find out what those authors who’ve written dozens and dozens face. And I worry that someone else has written my story before and that it’s just one I never read. Oops.

    A few intrepid souls have said they like Sing more than Eyes, so maybe Dancing will get one or two votes sooner or later. IMO of the 3 guys, Matt Slade would be the easiest to actually be married to and live with. A couple of the beta readers mentioned they thought my sex scenes were getting better, and I have to admit that was Gaetan. I found him EXTREMELY sexy. That probably is a standard thing – Bad Boy Syndrome. ~Ellen

  17. McD says:

    Ellen, I have finished Dancing on Coals and think it’s the best you’ve written. Gaetan is undoubtedly the sexiest of your three heroes in my opinion. Love me a strong, silent alpha!

    However, I also agree with you that if I was to choose which one to marry, that would be Matt.

    Loved DoC. And may you never run out of stories.

  18. Paige says:

    Hi Ellen, I just finished reading Dancing on Coals & I loved it. Maybe more than Eyes. I gave Dancing on Coals 5 stars on Amazon.

    Thanks so much for using the name I picked, Emma Grace Sandlin, in your book. You surprised me & gave her a husband too, Colonel Sandlin.

    If I got to pick one of your hero’s for a husband
    Cord
    Matt
    Gaetan

    before reading Dancing I would have picked Cord but after reading Dancing I just might have to pick Gaetan. Well, maybe it’s a tie between Cord & Gaetan.

    Thanks so much for the great books. Keep ’em coming.

  19. Hey Paige – I’m glad to hear from you. I was starting to worry that you weren’t happy I used the name of Emma Grace on an older woman instead of a young cutie.

    Thanks for the review and for mentioning the Afterword. It’s something that I rewrote from scratch because of beta reader comments, but then I didn’t send the rewrite out to anyone for comments before publishing, just went for it.

    When I wrote Eyes, I made Cord my perfect guy, and he remains so. However, when I wrote Sing there was never any doubt in my mind that Matt would be easier to live with. Of course one problem is always that the guy has to be as taken with the woman as vice versa, and since I’ve never been blonde and petite, on my best day, I’d never have affected Matt the way Sarah did. I also know I’d never be tough enough for Gaetan, which brings me right back to Cord. 🙂

    ~Ellen

  20. Paige says:

    I know that I could never do all the stuff that Katherine did and went through. She is one fierce lady. A true perfect match for Gaetan.

    **************************SPOILER ALERT**************************************

    I loved the Afterword so much. I even googled Pierce-Arrow so I could get a visual in my mind of the scene with Gaetan & Katherine driving to the beach with the wind in their hair.

    Also, the names you chose for their sons I thought was interesing. Victor could be named after Victorio and then Jerome sounds a lot like Geronimo.

    Thanks again for this wonderful story. Yes, I will be buying it in paperback too.

  21. You make me shake my head (ruefully). You see I thought I was clever and subtle with the names of the sons and no one would notice, but you’re the second person to mention having caught what I did there. I Googled the Pierce-Arrows of that era myself to make sure I was right that they were available in that time and that there was a convertible model. And of course to see what it looked like. ~Ellen

  22. Noreen says:

    Just finished Dancing. Couldn’t put it down. I think it’s my favorite of the three – hard choice, but that’s my vote. I agree the sex scenes were hotter – loved it, loved the characters, loved Katherine’s sense of humor (and that it even rubbed off on Gaetan a bit). I caught the Victor and Jerome bit too, figured Gaetan must have had the privilege of naming the boys. Great story. Can’t wait for the next one. Will put a 5 star review on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

