Happy New Year and…

Happy New Year, everyone. A New Year gift for me is the Maldivian Book Reviewer’s choice of Dancing on Coals as her #1 Pick of the Month for December 2011. You may remember that she posted a really complimentary review of Dancing recently. This time she posted an e-interview she did with me, and if you follow her giveaway rules there are some prizes you can win also. None of you reading here need a digital copy of Dancing, but there are other prizes, including a $20 gift certificate good at Amazon, B&N or some other places.

Something I’m looking forward to with the New Year is Victor’s last heartworm treatment on Monday, January 2. After this one, I can start to let him return to normal dog life – no more leash walks in cold Colorado winter nights!

In addition to the chronic and quickly ignored resolution to lose weight, this year I’m resolving to stick with the disciplined writing of 1,000 words a day at least 5 days a week. I did it while writing Dancing, but then fell off the wagon once I got to the revising and formatting when the book was finished. Ideally I need to keep with the 1,000 words a day for a next book while doing those things for a completed one, and that might result in more books per year, although I have no illusions of managing the 4-6 some writers do. Time will tell.

~Ellen

P.S. MBR also made a quote from Dancing the first of her favorite quotes of 2011. Since she picked a quote from one of the sex scenes, it’s a good thing I discovered it on New Year’s Eve. I didn’t cool my red face in a beer but did it much more classily (think that’s a word?) in a wine cooler. ~E

 

5 Responses to Happy New Year and…

  1. mesadallas says:

    Happy New Year, Ellen! Sounds as if yours is off to a great start! The interview was great and I thought the quote was beautiful… nothing to cause embarrassment at all.

  2. McD says:

    Happy New Year Ellen and all the best for 2012!
    Really hope you can maintain your 1000 words per day schedule. I’d love to read two of your western romances this year.

    Glad to hear your boy is on the mend as well
    And the interview was fabulous and so was the quote!

  3. Thanks, ladies. Let’s all hope the Mayans were wrong and 2012 is a fantastic year. ~Ellen

  4. Maureen says:

    That was a great interview, Ellen. Happy New Year! Look forward to reading more from you in 2012. 🙂

  5. MerviR says:

    Happy New Year everyone! I’ve been on Christmas vacation and haven’t opened my computer for more than two weeks. I hope both you and Victor are fine and the writing is going as planned.

Leave a Reply

