Yay, Amazon and B&N

Update 9/28 – Jennifer emailed me to say the book wasn’t up at B&N, but when I went to look, it did show there when I searched by title. Like Amazon, not all the details are there yet, but the cover and buy button are. 🙂

Thanks to everyone who hopped to Amazon and bought it today. I noticed early in the day it crept into the Top 100 for Westerns and later was firmly in the top third of that list. Of course, getting on Western Romances is a bit harder, but hope springs eternal (another momism).

Have a nice weekend everyone. I’m off to Nebraska.

 

Two eager readers have already emailed me that they found Beautiful Bad Man available on Amazon. Interestingly, Amazon still shows me as the author that it’s in the process of being published, but I too can find it for sale on their website (I searched the title).

I also uploaded to Barnes & Noble at the same time and haven’t checked to see how they’re doing. Right now I’m working on the formatting for Smashwords (which requires a Word document, which they then run through some convoluted conversion process to get the same ePub file I sent to B&N, but that’s how it is).

In the past I’ve used Smashwords to distribute to Kobo, Sony, Apple and other vendors, but I’m still debating about Kobo this time. I can deal with them directly now, which would get the book up faster and make changes and everything else easier, so I may do that instead. At least Smashwords will have the non-Amazon formats available quickly for you determined readers.

Hang tough, Mervi. I’m sure I’ll finish or almost finish the SW formatting to night and get it on SW tomorrow.

~ Ellen

21 Responses to Yay, Amazon and B&N

  1. Norcal Reader says:

    Yay is right!

    Just download BBM from Amazon right after your post. It is available. Can’t wait to read it.

  2. Richmond, va says:

    Downloaded my copy also. I’ve been checking every day searching by author instead of title.

  3. MerviR says:

    Great! Thanks a lot! I have a few other books to read at the moment so I’m not that desperate, but your books are always among the most treasured treats for me. I know I won’t be disappointed.

    Mervi

  4. DallasE says:

    Got it! But first, I have to do my bookkeeping, and finish the book I started yesterday. If I don’t finish the book now, I never will because it’s not that good, LOL. Hmm, it was a freebie………..

  5. Just to let everyone know – when books first come up on Amazon, the book page “populates” slowly with all the features, and it doesn’t come up in all searches the way it will once it’s been out a while. It used to be you could find a new book by ASIN # before it would turn up by title or author, but then the first book I ever put up took 3 days to show up at all.

    Hope it meets expectations. ~Ellen

  6. Anonymous says:

    Glad to see it’s now available. I promise you, ladies, you are going to love it!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Just finished it and getting ready to reread it. Love it! Every time i read a new book from you it becomes my favorite! Not sure how you are going to top this one. please write faster.

  8. McD says:

    Hi Ellen, and thank you for another brilliant story in Beautiful Bad Man!

  9. June Breed says:

    Got it! Read it! Love it! I abandoned the book I was reading so I could start it immediately. It continues to surprise me how much I enjoy historical western romances but Ellen, yours are the best.

  10. Barbara Wadman says:

    Ellen, Purchased your new book,”Beautiful Bad Man” for my I-Pad and finished it that evening–Okay I was up until after 2 am,, but when your are retired you can do that. Enjoyed the book immensely and then had to go and reread “Eyes of Silver Eyes of Gold for the fourth time. “Eyes” is my favorite book and I recommend that others read it. People I recommend the book to always thank me for suggesting such a great book. There is only one problem and that is that too much time will pass before you publish another story. I’ll be waiting.

  11. June Breed says:

    Oh, I agree with everything Barbara has said.

  12. Thanks, everyone. I’m back from my weekend trip and hope to be over the tiredness and ready for more book stuff tomorrow. The original plan was to drive home Sunday afternoon/evening, but we didn’t finish until 7:30 p.m., so rather than drive at night, I stayed over and came home yesterday morning. Which is to say I was still dragging around a bit today.

    Needless to say, there’s always some anxiety when releasing a new book – will people like it? So it’s great to have some reassurance from people here. I know you are the earliest readers and probably the most confirmed fans of the other books.

    ~ Ellen

  13. June Breed says:

    Ellen, get back to your computer and start writing immediately!!!

  14. MerviR says:

    I finished BBM yesterday evening. It was wonderful, heartbreaking and funny at the same time. I loved Norah and Cal. Great work!

    Mervi

  15. Morgan says:

    I finished BBM last night. Yet another successful accomplishment – I spectacular story Ellen! You set expectations high with your previous books and BBM fits right along with them. What talent you have! Thank you once again! Loved the names of the characters by the way!!

    Can you pick your favorite male character/”hero” from all your books?! 🙂

  16. Morgan says:

    **A spectacular story! Typo!

  17. I still have a lot of things to do over Beautiful Bad Man, June, but I hope to get back to writing sometime this week.

    I’m glad you liked it, Mervi, and glad you’ve found an easier way to get the book quickly.

    Morgan – Each new hero is my favorite at the time I write that book, so it’s impossible to say which one is “the” favorite. Each one was for a while, and then I promiscuously skip on and find someone else. However, even while I’m writing that story and in love with that guy at the moment, I also always know he needs a certain kind of woman for the HEA to be believable. I have to be able to see them spending the next 50 years together in some kind of harmony.

    So maybe that’s part of it. Each one of these men is my favorite when you pair him with that particular woman because he’s right for her. If you paired Katherine of Dancing on Coals with Cord, Matt, or Cal, you’d have a wreck, although I don’t think any of them would be dumb enough to marry her or she them. Similarly Anne of Eyes of Silver, Eyes of Gold could never love and accept a killer like Cal Sutton, even giving them the original history Cal and Norah had. If for some reason or other Gaetan saved Sarah of Sing My Name, when he stole the horses, he’d never go back for her – and she wouldn’t want him to, regardless of what else would happen to her.

    ~ Ellen

  18. Anonymous says:

    And that is why your stories are so memorable and close to the heart! The combination or your characters are perfect! It is funny when I asked that question I thought to myself, “well, it depends on the female character!.” You create hilariously great female characters who are also realistic. Some female characters absolutely grate on my nerves

  19. julie c says:

    I love your books so much!!!!! Just finished Beautiful, Bad Man and it didnt disappoint! I get frustrated with myself for finishing too quickly. Now, I’m back to waiting for your next treasure. Thank you!

  20. DallasE says:

    I need to read it again. I liked it a lot, but I have to read all of Ellen’s books at least twice. Or in the case of Eyes, almost monthly, lol. Thank you Ellen, for hours and hours of enjoyment.

  21. LoveToRead says:

    Downloaded BBM on Oct 1 and I have read it twice already. I’m sure there will be many more re-reads. Caleb and Norah proudly carry on in the footsteps of Anne and Cord, Sarah and Matt, and Katherine and Gaetan. I truly admire that you craft love stories not romance stories. Your characters are always so grounded and honest. I have said it before in my reviews on Amazon your characters are people I would want as my friends. Cord is still my favorite hero but I have to admit that Caleb sure does give him a run for the money.

Leave a Reply

