Thanks, Everyone

I know that those of you who read here form a core of enthusiastic readers who are like that biblical woman of worth whose price is above rubies (at least to me). You not only buy my books as soon as they’re available, you spread the word to other readers every way you can, and that word of mouth is truly priceless. Some of you review, and some of your reviews have made me puddle up. Thank you, each and every one of you.

I hope you are all safe and even if you live in an area affected by the big storm, suffer nothing more than inconvenience. I was born in New Jersey and grew up there and can’t even imagine what it must be like.

Tidbits: I released the paperback version of Beautiful Bad Man at Create Space today. They say it will be available on Amazon and Amazon UK in 5 to 7 days.

You may remember that I post once a month on the Cowboy Kisses joint western blog. My post this month is about the Apaches who inspired Dancing on Coals. So if you’re curious about the photos that had such an effect on me, you can see them there. From the comments so far, I’d say I’m alone in being so smitten by them.

When I purchased my first Kindle more than a year before I ever thought of publishing a book, I found the Kindle Boards forums and joined. Since that time, it’s been my favorite forum, not least because that’s where I first saw the information that did lead me to publish Rottweiler Rescue in February of 2010. By that time, indie authors were all over the forums, and instead of allowing the conflict and bitterness that occurred elsewhere, KB set up a designated sub-forum called The Writers’ Cafe. Authors are allowed to post in any of the KB forums and to use signatures showing their books, but discussion of writing goes to the Cafe. Another sub-forum called Book Bazaar is for promoting individual books.

What I’m leading up to is that while I don’t think advertising does much good, KB offers both a banner advertisement and a book of the day feature that shows up at the top of all their site pages. Feedback from authors on the forum indicates these ads don’t have much affect on sales, particularly the banner. My guess is most KBers are like me. My browser is Firefox, and I run it with an ad blocking plug in, so I never see the banners.

No book of the day spot was available until February, so I did buy a banner ad for Beautiful Bad Man, which ran on October 19th. In my mind the purpose was mostly to support KB, and I don’t think many would have seen it. However, it is rather pretty, so I’m posting it here. Even though it has to be rather small to fit, at least a few people will see it this way.  ~ Ellen

13 Responses to Thanks, Everyone

  1. Lovestoread says:

    Glad to hear about the photographs of the Apache. I an currently rereading Dancing so I am quite intrigued and will check them out.

  2. Barbara Wadman says:

    Ellen, I just want you to be busy writing your next story. I have read your latest, “Beautiful Bad Man”, three times already–I just love it. Somehow I really connect with the people you write about. There are many writers of romance out there but not all give a great story. They never seem to realize that a great plot that makes one care about the characters is a greater aphrodisiac than descriptions of sexual positions. Some people watch TV, some people drink and gamble, I read. I love a good romance with intelligent people who care about each other and who work together for a good life. Keep writing those great books for me to buy.

  3. June Breed says:

    I didn’t need a banner to buy the book. I couldn’t wait for it to be available! I loved it. Can’t wait for the next one. I was surprised to hear you were born in the East, I imagined you a real born and bred Westerner. I too will check out the Apache photos.

  4. Thanks, ladies. Rereading has to be one of the biggest compliments.

    Barbara – I’m with you. When the sex scenes go on and on, I start flipping pages, and I do my best to avoid those authors whose books would turn into short stories if you took all that out.

    June – I’m afraid I was born and bred an Easterner. From the time I could talk, though, I regularly declared I wanted to move “down West where the cowboys are.” At 19 I achieved that dream, moved to Colorado and have been here ever since. ~Ellen

  5. MerviR says:

    I think both Victorio and Naiche are very handsome. There is something in the picture of Victorio that makes me think he is capable of great gentleness and compassion and of course they both look brave and honest and proud. But I have to admit that reading “Bury my heart at Wounded Knee” at young age has had a big impact on my perception of Native American heroes.

    I agree – sex scenes can be very boring if there is no interesting dialogue and no insight on the development of the relationship, just a very repetitive description of an act. But sometimes they are great and have an important place in the story if the author is good, Diana Gabaldon and Laura Kinsale come to mind among others.

    Mervi

  6. Linda Rewis says:

    Some writers have a link where you can sign up to receive an email when a new book is released. Please consider adding this type of link to your site. I love purchasing your books as soon as they come out.

  7. Rosheen says:

    Howdy like the banner and the blog on cowboy kisses. Cheers

  8. Good to find another fan of Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee here, Mervi. It had a dramatic and lasting effect on me too.

    Thanks, Rosheen.

    @Linda – I am struck by the synchronicity of your comment. There’s a thread right now on Kindle Boards about how to do this. I’ve seen advice for a long time that authors should try to get readers to sign up for newsletters, but I can’t imagine filling a newsletter, and I accidentally signed up for one by an author once and it simply irritated me the way spam does. The KB thread, however, was pointing out a way to do just what you suggested – have people sign up only for notification of new releases. I’ll have to look into it. ~Ellen

  9. Morgan says:

    http://www.cowboysindians.com/Cowboys-Indians/June-2012/Best-Of-The-West-2012-Photographer-Carl-Moon/

    Being a history enthusiast, especially all things Native American, I often research and randomly search pictures. I came upon the picture above and was fiercly drawn to this youth’s look. Though young, I can visualize him as a strikingly handsome man. I find that I am typically attracted to Native American men, not necessarily physically, but culturally as well. Their lives as it was is fascinating to me. Even the hardships they continue to suffer currently impassion me.
    When I think of the 4 Native American Founding Fathers – they each represent what most females desire in men…strength, wisdom, safety, protector, provider, proud, confident, spiritual, family oriented, and rebellious (what woman doesn’t like a little bit of a bad boy in their man?!). The pictures of Victorio and Naiche are striking and represent more than just looks and physicality and that is why I am attracted to each.

  10. Morgan says:

    And thank you for posting those pictures! I love seeing how you were visually inpired! Dancing is hands down one of my top favorite books. It is a fiercely beautiful story that resonates within my soul. It is one of those books that leaves feelings of fulfillment and emptiness simultaneously – fulfilled because of the love, humor, struggles, and adventures they experienced together and feeling empty because of a way of life, language, and culture lost forever. I felt that you captured that loss in both Kathrine and Gaetan. It is a devastatingly horrific occurrence that happened in our Nation’s history – what was done to Native Americans of that era was genocide. Ok, I’ll stop before I begin preaching 🙂 Thank you again Ellen!!

  11. You’re right, Morgan. That Navajo boy is very good looking and undoubtedly grew into a handsome man. And thanks for the compliments on Dancing. I’m with you as a history buff. It’s endlessly fascinating to me and I don’t understand why it’s such a neglected area in schools today. ~Ellen

  12. Jean says:

    *****************************SPOILERS*******************

    I have to admit that I’ve never been interested in Westerns and as a genre in romance it’s something I choose to avoid. After reading this book you have single-handedly converted me into appreciating Western novels (namely yours!) and I read your whole back catalogue on my Kindle afterwards. Being English, I am pretty much ignorant of American History and I appreciate the research and attention to detail you have in your storylines. The pace of “Beautiful Bad Men” was relentless, the hero (and heroine) moved from one obstacle to the next with ingenuity, grit and determination; [SPOILERS] from setting up an irrigation system to water their farm to digging a ditch filled with pitch to prevent stampeding cattle. I liked that you wrote a flawed hero insofar that he had an unconventional moral code where he was prepared to do anything to protect his wife and farm and I couldn’t help rooting for him because it was the only way to resist the murdering cattle baron and his corrupted lawmen. The only reservation I had was the ending as it was a bit too neat and, in my opinion, short of death, their enemy would not surrender so easily. With regards to the romance, I wasn’t bothered that the love scenes were not overlong or graphic as I felt tonally that would not fit the grim storyline, but the romance was still satisfying because of the fully realized, damaged characters who learned to love each other [SPOILERS END].

    Thank you for writing a detailed, intricate romance with compelling characters and plot. I look forward to your future books.

  13. Thanks for commenting, Jean. I’m delighted to convert anyone to a fan of Western Romance, and I agree it’s hard to find stories in the genre that satisfy. You are the second UK reader to make a remark about not being familiar with parts of U.S. history recently, and I’m happy to help out there too. Needless to say, with the popularity of Regencies these days, a lot of us over here are very familiar with at least that part of your history. Henry VIII and his wives, Elizabeth I and Mary Queen of Scots fascinated me in my teens, so I read a lot about that period years ago, but history and historical fiction, not romance.

    ~Ellen

Leave a Reply

