Vote for me!

I always roll my eyes when I see posts on my dog lists along the lines of — my Fluffy is entered in the most beautiful puppy contest on dogzdogzdogz.com. Please go vote for Fluffy.

However, here I am asking for votes, not for Fluffy, but for Beautiful Bad Man. You see Bad Man is up for a 2012 RONE award at InD’Tale. The process as I understand it is that all romances like Bad Man which were indie published in 2012 and received 5-star reviews at the site are eligible.

After that, there is reader voting to nominate a certain number of the eligibles for the next round. That’s where things are right now. The InD’Tale staff actually sent me an email urging me to tell readers, friends and fans to vote, so here I am. You can see the entire list of eligible books here.

Voting for my category, American Historical, opens today and continues for a week until Thursday, May 2. Instructions for voting are here.

You don’t have to register to vote. But if you don’t, you have to do one of two alternative procedures that sound more complicated. I registered at the site at the time they did the review, and they’ve never spammed me in any way. I get one email a month notifying me of the release of that month’s edition of their magazine, and that’s all.

Unlike the Fluffy voting, this is not strictly a popularity contest. After the reader voting to narrow the field, the nominated contestants will be read and rated by reviewers (and not the regular reviewers for the site). That’s how the final winners will be decided. If I’ve read it right, there’s an overall winner and runners up and a winner in each category.

I’d appreciate any of you who can take the time going over to the site sometime in the next week and voting for Bad Man.

As one of my all-time favorite ads used to say, “Thank you for your support.”

~Ellen

19 Responses to Vote for me!

  1. June Breed says:

    Voted. Good luck.

  2. Rosheen says:

    Yes voted for you! Done!

  3. michele says:

    Love your books! Happy to vote for you!

  4. reganwalker says:

    Ellen, I hate those popularity contests where any 2 star author can find 100 friends to vote for her book, so I avoid them. BUT because this is you and you know I LOVE your novels, I’m going to the hassle of voting for Beautiful Bad Man and urge others to do so in order that a 5-star author wins.

  5. Ellen O'Connell says:

    Thanks, ladies.

    Regan – Yup, that’s why I hate the Fluffy requests, but I suppose InD’Tale feels it has to narrow the original lists down in some fashion so their final reviewer judges face a doable task. Only 4 and 5-star books are listed for reader voting, so it seems reasonable and not just a popularity contest, although at this stage…. Well, I’ve already seen happy requests from other authors for votes. ~Ellen

  6. McD says:

    Hi Ellen, I’ve voted for BBM. Think of it as not asking for votes, more so as a REMINDER to vote for BBM.

    Of the books in your category, yours is the only 5-star book I’ve read.

    Good luck!

  7. Rhonda Maurer says:

    Happy to vote for you!!!! Done and done!!!! rrmaurer

    Date: Fri, 26 Apr 2013 08:47:42 +0000 To: rrmfolly@msn.com

  8. Thanks, McD. If you mean you read the others and they weren’t 5 stars for you, that’s kind of sad. ~E

  9. McD says:

    Of the six in your category I’ve read four. 🙂

  10. Well, maybe the 2 you didn’t read are 5 stars. 🙂 ~E

  11. Bunce says:

    Done because you deserve the award. I have read all your books and love them all. As a dog lover I am now sitting patiently (well as patiently as I can for me) waiting for Rottweiler Railroad. Good luck with the award!

  12. McD says:

    Lol! I thought you were supposed to be garnering support for BBM??

  13. mesadallas says:

    All right, Ellen you got my vote!

  14. Anonymous says:

    I voted for BBM and was glad to do it! Good luck!

  15. Thanks everyone.

    Bunce – I hear you. This year. So help me.

    McD – I’m trying. I’m just not very good at it.

    ~ Ellen

  16. Sorry I missed the voting! Ellen I just read through all of your western romances and absolutely loved them! Do you have plans to be writing any more western romances in the future?

  17. Hi Regina and welcome. I’m glad you liked the books. Yes, I’m almost done with the first draft of another romance. Whether it’s western may be borderline – I’m trying to decide. It starts with a scene in the Spanish-American War (1898) and then moves to Kansas with most of the story taking placing in 1899 and early 1900. It’s a sequel to Beautiful Bad Man, and characters who were children in that book are the H/h, so my timeline had to move up that far.

    I found your Twitter posts but when I tried http://www.badassbookblog.com, my PC just spun its wheels forever and didn’t bring up a website. Is that my slow connection or do you only do tweets?

    ~Ellen

  18. Oh sorry — the blog is actually: http://www.badassbookreviews.com but my that is too long for a twitter handle, so I shortened it for twitter. I do reviews and tweets. (if this is spammish, please feel free to delete that out, I am posting b/c I love your work) I am actually planning on reviewing all over you books in a big post in the next month and would love to do an interview. I understand if you are busy. 🙂 You have some great fans on goodreads that helped me discover you. I just finished Dancing on Coals today and it literally blew me away. I was riding the el into work in Chicago and I was literally crying in public.

    The setting for you book sounds wonderful and I cannot wait to read it! Thank you for the update.

  19. Regina – I don’t see anything spammy about that. I’m delighted that you’re going to review the books on your blog (particularly since I know in advance you liked them 🙂 ). I’d be happy to do an interview. My email’s on the website. ~Ellen

Leave a Reply

