RONE again

InD’tale just sent an email today telling me Without Words is eligible for their RONE award, and the voting for finalists in the American Historical category is from April 13-19th. Why I only got the email today I can’t say as I see on the Amazon MOA Western Romance thread others did get the notice on the 13th or earlier, but here I am asking for your help and feeling a little behind the curve.

I’d appreciate any votes any of you can give for Without Words in its category. Yes, you have to register at the InD’tale site, but I registered back when Beautiful Bad Man was in this position, and they only send me one email a month when their magazine comes out and really don’t bug you at all.

Here’s the link they gave me (you have to be logged in to see the nominees).

For those of you who are new to the site, this isn’t an award given based only on reader votes. Books that received a 4-star or better review on the InD’tale site are initially eligible. That list is narrowed down by reader votes, and then the finalists are actually read and scored by judges selected by InD’tale.

This year Words has a much tougher row to hoe to get to the finalist stage than Bad Man did in 2012 because there are many more candidates at this stage. I forgot to count, but there must be at least 15 that will be narrowed down to 5.

Thanks for your help.

~Ellen

14 Responses to RONE again

  1. I voted for you as you have become one of my very favorite authors. Any updates on your next book?

  2. Jane says:

    Got my vote. Best wishes Ellen!

  3. Rosheen says:

    Done and voted! Bit hard to find voting link on their site but worked it out 😎

  4. Anonymous says:

    Done. Waiting…… lol

  5. DallasE says:

    Well darn. The above comment is me. DallasE

  6. June says:

    So pleased for you Ellen, well deserved. Loved the book. I have voted.

  7. TiffanyP says:

    Voted!

  8. Robin says:

    I have voted. Keeping my fingers crossed for you.

  9. Thanks, ladies. Barbara, all I can tell you is the next novel will be Roddy’s (from Sing My Name) story. Right now it has a working title of An Interesting Woman. There is, of course, always the danger I’ll get fond of that and it will be the only title, and I’m already kind of fond of it. However, the next thing I think you will see will be a novella in the series of Eyes shorts I plan. I’m going to post about that whole thing soon.

    ~Ellen

  10. Barbara Wadman says:

    Ellen, I was so surprised to hear your next book will be about Roddy as I was always sure you would write a book about Beau. Oh well, it will be a great book I am sure. I did vote for you and did leave a reply, but somehow it does not appear to have gone through.

  11. Beau’s story will be after Roddy’s, Barbara. I always intended to do that. Dancing on Coals definitely bubbled to the surface first, and my plan was also to do Without Words and then turn back to Roddy and Beau. However, after I wrote Dancing, the idea of a hero who wasn’t conventionally good and who didn’t change the way most romance heroes do when they fall in love still fascinated me, and Beautiful Bad Man came from that. Then I tried and tried to come up with an epilog for Bad Man I liked. The only idea I liked was too much for an epilog and became Into the Light. So poor Words was left hanging until I got the Suttons out of my system, and Roddy and Beau stayed suspended until after Words.

    Things aren’t much better now. I have the ideas for the Eyes novellas bouncing around demanding to be developed and written, but I’m also about ready for Roddy’s story. (Stories have to percolate quite a while in my mind before I get to where I think I have a decent story worked out and can outline it and then write it.)

    My plodding linear mind doesn’t usually have this problem with getting distracted by one thing after another, but that’s kind of what’s going on right now.

    ~Ellen

  12. Barbara Wadman says:

    Ellen, Beautiful Bad Man is a favorite of mine–sort of tied with Eyes, so I cannot regret this book took president. Definitely I will ordered Roddy’s story while waiting for the book about Beau. Good things come to those who wait!

  13. Anonymous says:

    Yes! Roddy or Beau. Makes no difference. Looking so forward to it!

  14. Jody Dial says:

    I’m so happy to hear I’ll get to know Roddy and Beau much better, but especially Beau!

Leave a Reply

