Recommendations

I received an email yesterday from McD. After seeing our discussion about recommendations in the comments to my last post, she is sharing her list of authors currently writing historical westerns. (I happen to know that McD is a thorough reviewer and has in fact reviewed for a couple of popular book blogs.) Four of the authors she mentions are new to me, and I’m going to give them a try. So, here it is:

Jo Goodman
Carla Kelly
Kaki Warner
Holly Bush
Rosanne Bittner
Lori Austin
Linda Broday

All of these authors usually deliver 3.5-4 star reads, some higher, particularly JG.

Rosanne Bittner has a new book coming out – Do Not Forsake Me – in July. It’s book #2 in the Outlaw Hearts series. The first book, written over 20 years ago, is due to be re-issued in June by Sourcebooks. It’s a 500 page sweeping saga, and pretty good – 4 stars.

Desiree Banks
The Gallows’ Bounty
The Sheriff’s Widow

J.R. Biery
The Milch Bride
From Darkness to Glory
(there’s a third book in this series I’ve not yet read)

An older series that’s been re-issued – 4 stars overall – which I recently re-read and enjoyed:

Maureen McKade
A Reason to Live (the best of the series imo)
A Reason to Believe
A Reason to Sin

I hope those of you looking for recommendations find some new-to-you books and authors to try in that list.

~Ellen

31 Responses to Recommendations

  1. Regan Walker says:

    Ellen, I have a Best Western Historical Romances list, too, you might want to look at: http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com/2014/06/best-western-historical-romances-love_27.html. I read and review Westerns each June and update my list then.

  2. Rosheen says:

    Thanks Ellen will check your list 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    You need to read Christi Corbett who is excellent. Her first book Along the Way Home is now 99 cents on Amazon. Her second book Tainted Dreams will be released on May 12th.

  4. Yes, everyone. Regan’s list is more by book instead of author, but odds are if you like one thing by a particular author, you’ll like others (although that works in reverse and I’ve DNF’d particular books by favorite authors).

    Also, if you read Regency and/or Medieval, Regan writes in those subgenres of Historical Romance. Look her books up. (She indie published the Medieval and I suspect makes more from a sale on it, so if you’re considering one or the other….)

    Rosheen – Not my list, McD’s. She and I agree on a lot, but we sometimes disagree too. She loves Outlander; I DNF’d it.

    ~Ellen

  5. Hmm. You know what? I’m not going to approve any more Anonymous recommendations by people who haven’t posted here before. Sorry, but I’m not. ~Ellen

  6. Jane says:

    Lori Austin’s “The Lone Warrior” is one of my favorites of all time. Leigh Greenwood writes a good western romance too!

  7. June says:

    Thanks Ellen. Now get back to writing your next book please!!!

  8. Jane says:

    Oh no June! I’m sure you’re just joking. Ellen is such a sweetheart to take the time and personally answer our questions. I suspect most writers don’t. She also Churns out high quality books in what in my opinion is record time. ((Hugs)) Ellen!

  9. Susan says:

    I love Maggie Osborne’s Westerns–even though she is no longer writing hers are some of the best. I also recommend Alexis Harrington’s books.

  10. Carolanne says:

    Ellen, your western historicals are the VERY BEST out there! The best writing, the best plots, the best dialogues, and the best characters! Your secondary characters in Sing My Name captured my heart. Please never stop.

    I also loved Maggie Osborne, Pamela Morsi and the westerns by Lorraine Heath. Also, I encourage everyone to rediscover the brilliance and fun of Georgette Heyer. Friday’s Child, Faro’s Daughter, These Old Shades and its sequel, Devil’s Cub, are my favorites.

    And if you want to read truly outstanding writing I can’t recommend Louise Penny strongly enough! Her mysteries are rare gems. What a writer! Make sure to start with her first one, Still Life. In no time, you will fall in love with Armand Gamache and Three Pines.

  11. Gypsy says:

    Off subject…..
    I just reread Dancing On Coals. Thanks once again. Amazing!,,

  12. Marcia Montoya says:

    Hello once again Ellen. I really enjoyed this blog and wanted to tell you that besides you, I love Kaki Warner’s books and series and way back, I have read all of Maureen McCade’s books and can’t wait for the new ones. Lori Austin use to write under the name Lori Handel and and had a wonderful series out then titled The Rock Creek Six. Can’t wait for your next book Ellen. for us older people, waiting seems like forever between books. Keep up the good work!
    Your Fan
    Marcia

  13. Marcia Montoya says:

    Here’s a p.s. from me. I guess when I wrote my comment on Lori Austin writing under Lori Handeland, it fixed itself but wrong.
    Sorry
    Marcia

  14. Cee Adams says:

    Hello if you have not read Beverly Jenkins.. give her historical romance series a tryb. her books are written about the African American experience in the west and pre/post civil war
    “Indigo” – about the underground rail road
    “Vivid” – female doctor and trials faced
    “Night Hawk” bounty hunter
    Destiny trilogy: Destiny’s Captive
    Destiny’s Surrender
    Destiny’s Embrace

  15. Anonymous says:

    Agree with Carolanne that your books are the “measuring stick” to me.
    Also agree with Marcia that Lori Handeland’s “Rock Creek Six” is great!

  16. Morgan says:

    Thank you Ellen for these “referrals.” I look forward to trying out new authors/books I haven’t had the privilege to read/know yet! A lot of you also gave some great recommendations…some I have read and some are new names/titles to me. I will add to the list of recommendations who has not been mentioned yet…Penelope Williamson – Heart of the West, Passions of Emma, and The Outsider are phenomenal. In fact, after I read Eyes I found Ms. Williamson’s books as a “similar” author to you Ms. O’Connell!!

  17. Jane says:

    I’ve been Meaning to ask if anyone else has seen the movie adaption of ” The Outsider” and what did they think of it? Of course it got trimmed down quite a bit, but I think it stayed pretty faithful overall. They did do a few changes at the end that I thought were more intense and emotional in the book, but you can’t have everything I guess.

  18. Thanks, everyone. Hope you’re all finding new authors/books in each others’ recommendations. I sure am.

    Jane, no, I haven’t seen the movie of The Outsider (an especial thank you, Morgan, for comparing anything of mine to what I consider a Western Romance classic). I saw it on Amazon once when looking around for something, but decided not to order it. Generally I avoid movies if I’ve read the book and vice versa.

    I read Shane, the classic Western Western years ago and then saw the movie. I’m angry to this day that anyone would cast short blond Alan Ladd as Shane.

    ~Ellen

  19. Jane says:

    At least they got The casting right with The Outsider. When I read it was Tim Daly ( the guy from Wings) I didn’t think it would work, but he was great in it! It was one of the best adaptions I’ve seen and in general they usually are a disappointment. Cheers! Jane

  20. Rosheen says:

    Hi Ellen, just an FYI on book recommendations. Your books have been recommended for the last two weeks reading corner by a popular author on face book 🙂 and you have had (unsurprisingly) good comments by readers 🙂 have a great weekend.

  21. Don’t be such a tease, Rosheen. Which author, or could you provide a link? I don’t have a FB account, but I’m sure I could get a friend to look it up for me and let me see. ~Ellen

  22. Rosheen says:

    Opps sorry for the tease. https://www.facebook.com/marianazapatawrites?fref=nf . Lol I’m not really Facebook /tech capable, only use it to visit author pages really but I think this is the link. You may have to scroll down, to the reading corner the one from this weekend was under the book pain picture. Mariana Zapata is the author, I have read and enjoyed her last two books Under Locke and Kulti, lots of pages in both but I enjoy her , different writing style. She is definitely a fellow animal lover. Cheers rosheen

  23. I’m not sure Barbara Hawkins meant to leave a comment under About, so just in case you’re wondering where your comment went, Barbara, I’m mentioning here that your post popped up there, and I answered it there. ~Ellen

  24. Pam says:

    Sorry, didn’t realize I needed to put my name so as not to be Anonymous.

    I wanted to suggest that you look at “Bittersweet” by author Penelope Fletcher. I haven’t read it yet, but plan to. It is another book about a young woman forced to marry a half-breed Indian at gunpoint.

  25. Actually, Pam, I’m aware of Bittersweet because a fan contacted me sometime ago to tell me about it and that she considered it a rip off of Eyes of Silver, Eyes of Gold. She left a review on Amazon stating just that, and the book disappeared from the Amazon site sometime after that. I didn’t know it was back, but if it is, I have to wonder if it was taken down and then republished to get rid of that review.

    As I explained to the concerned fan, it may be unethical, but there is no law against copying someone else’s plot. I wouldn’t recommend the book based on that fan’s description, have not read it and don’t intend to. I would never recommend anything I hadn’t read and only approved your comment so that I could make my position on the book clear.

    ~ Ellen

  26. Jane says:

    There Are several reviews on Amazon noting the similarity.

  27. Thanks, Jane. I admit the whole subject makes me so angry I’m not going to look it up again. However, the original email from the reader who first called my attention to it warmed my heart and so does learning that others are looking out for my books and pointing out the truth. ~Ellen

  28. Marcia Montoya says:

    Dear Ellen. When can we look for your next book and any update on the Eyes series? Can’t wait. We do so love your books!
    Thank you for all you give us
    Marcia

  29. Sorry, Marcia, I’ve given up making predictions because I’m always too optimistic, and then I feel guilty. Hints of anything new will be here before anywhere else. ~Ellen

  30. Pam says:

    Ellen,

    Thanks for responding. I didn’t want to accuse the other author of plagiarism since I haven’t read the book. I’m glad you are aware that the book is out there. After reading part of the excerpt, I decided to save my money and re-read your book.

    I have all of your books, have read and enjoyed them. You and Carla Kelly are my favorite authors of new westerns. I also love the books by Maggie Osborne and Lorraine Heath.

    I think it is so nice that you talk to your fans.

    Pam

  31. DonnaG says:

    Thank you so much for writing such wonderful books. They make me laugh and they make me cry. I never want to say goodbye to the characters and so will be re-reading them all for some time to come.

Leave a Reply

