Rats and… not rats

I’ll start with the not rats, in fact the good. Regan Walker, who comments here occasionally, has a great romance blog and is today featuring Dancing on Coals. Her review is very complimentary, and she has included Dancing on her list of favorite Western Historicals in the past. As I’ve mentioned here before, Regan also writes romance, although not Westerns. She has written Regencies, a Medieval, and most recently a romance set in the pre-Regency Georgian period. Thanks, Regan.

As for the rats, Without Words missed being a finalist for the RONE award by either one vote (depending on how they handle ties) or 2. It’s no one’s fault but my own for not swinging a wider loop on getting votes, and in the future I need to make up my mind either to dive into the whole process indelicately and whole-heartedly or not bother at all, since missing by that margin made me cranky.

~ Ellen

13 Responses to Rats and… not rats

  1. Mary says:

    Definitely rats – I joined up and voted – it’s a great book – one of the best.

  2. Marcia Montoya says:

    Without words is one of my very favorites, but then all yours are.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Ouch!!!! I must have missed an email. I certainly would have voted if I had known. Don’t be cranky. You are held in the highest esteem.
    We are in Wyoming. I only read westerns when in the west…..it is a rule, not a guideline.

  4. Jody Dial says:

    Akkkk. By one vote. Rats is right.

  5. Rhonda says:

    😦 Don’t be cranky, Ellen. So many of us love your work.

  6. Regan Walker says:

    So glad to feature your books on my best lists, Ellen. Dancing on Coals is also on my Top 20 list, which you must have missed (http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com/2014/12/my-top-20-historical-romances.html). Btw, my medieval (the first in a series), The Red Wolf’s Prize did make the RONE finalists but like you said, the voting is an iffy thing.

    Regan

  7. Rosheen says:

    Bugger. I voted not that I find the rone website easy to navigate but I got it done. With out words certainly did merit being with the finalists !

  8. DallasE says:

    Yep. Rats…. But I will check Regan’s blog.

  9. Thanks for the sympathy, everyone – although it doesn’t change the fact I still feel cranky. Needless to say I can think of more than 2 people I could have asked and didn’t. I hate that kind of stuff, but I should have either never bothered to mention it here and the one other place I did, or gotten in gear and played the game.

    Regan, it was the Top 20 list I was thinking of when I mentioned it even though I didn’t get the name right. Congratulations on The Red Wolf’s Prize making the finals for the RONE and best of luck with it. The final round is the one that I think has merit since it’s based on, well, merit. So many readers love your TRWP your chances should be good.

    ~Ellen

  10. starfish says:

    was wondering if you are working on another book and if so hopefully it is a western like coals or eyes of silver

  11. Regan Walker says:

    Ellen, all your books are also on my Best Western Historical Romances list, too: http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com/2014/06/best-western-historical-romances-love_27.html. Since June is Western month on my blog, I’ll be updating that list at the end of the month. Thanks for the good wishes on The Red Wolf’s Prize.

  12. Don’t worry, starfish, I plan to keep writing western historical romance.

    ~Ellen

  13. Anonymous says:

    ACHHHHH! Double RATS! I did not vote. I would vote for any one of you books! From me the only competition you have is one of your other books. My favorite is the one I happen to be reading at that particular time. I’ve read them all several times and am waiting to Roddy and/or Beau to come available😀

Leave a Reply

