Progress Report

I thought those of you hanging in there would like a progress report. The Journal is finished and is out to beta readers now. After that, of course, there will be revisions and the tedious stuff like proofreading, but the end is nigh as they say. I am going to do a paper version of this and it should be about 150-160 pages formatted like the other books (48,000 words).

Tonight I worked on a blurb, and after about a hundred false starts finally have something that strikes me as halfway decent. As you know, the blurb is supposed to make you want to read it, so if it doesn’t have that effect on you, it isn’t working. Let me know.

If anyone had warned Caroline Tindell she would come face to face with Jamie Lenahan at the start of the 1905 Great Plains Automobile Race, she would have stayed home. “I loved him with all my nineteen-year-old heart,” she admits, but that was six years ago, before the shallow, coldhearted rogue broke that heart.

Jamie expects the Great Plains Race to be day after day of bad roads, dust, and difficulty. Miss Caroline Tindell should not be the biggest difficulty, but there she is, marooned at the side of the road after an automobile wreck.

What should a man haunted by the memory of a girl who didn’t love him enough do? What should a woman who never got over loving a man who didn’t return that love do?

Caroline and Jamie have a thousand miles to find out.

Now onward to a cover.

~ Ellen

15 Responses to Progress Report

  1. Patricia Patterson says:

    Yay. Sign me up. Sounds terrific.

  2. Rosheen says:

    Good blurb. Sets the scenic time, place who and what. I’m curious to see what happens, that is always a good blurb for me. I’m sure you will tweak it for flow. For a first final draft it has it all, in my opinion.

  3. GWEN says:

    Can’t wait. I’ve missed your voice so very much. I’ve been rereading your books. I forget how good they are, Eyes, Sing My Name, Dancing On Coals, and Without Words. I love every one of them, even the second or third time around.

  4. Eva says:

    This post made my night. I can’t wait to read it.

  5. Mary Higginson says:

    Yes – it makes me want to read it. Can’t wait for another great read.

  6. ina316 says:

    Not super dramatic, but does stimulate curiosity.

  7. DallasE says:

    Oh darn, I’m going to have to reread “Into The Light”. That’s okay, it’s past time for a reread of all of Ellen’s books……

  8. I’m hooked! Great blurb!

  9. Sharon Hicks says:

    Waiting patiently 😠LOL.

  10. Mk says:

    Worth waiting for! I love all your books and like Many of your other fans have re-read some of them a second and third time. I have a feeling I’ll be doing the same with this one as well!

  11. Cheryl says:

    Hey ..so I don’t often comment but you wanted to know if the blurb made me want to read the new book… I’d say.. Maybe. You are an auto-buy for me so I don’t pay much attention to blurbs. If I was a new reader to you …well.. Maybe id buy ..nothing said wow gotta have this book.. so I might delay in purchasing it, especially if another book grabbed my attention. But I wasn’t turned off from the blurb either.. so maybe I’d buy. 😉

  12. Sharon says:

    Okay, I have just finished rereading “Into the Light” so have refamiliarized myself with Jamie and Caroline so I am ready!

  13. Joyce Cosh says:

    O Yes! ‘Course I have loved everything you have written so count me as a fan! Have to agree with Cheryl who said you are an auto-buy anyway & sadly, there are very few of them any more. Can’t wait for the next book.

  14. Rexy says:

    Ooh, I’m intrigued by the blurb (though I do agree with one commenter that you’re an auto-buy). I can’t wait to get my hands on this book!

  15. Judy S says:

    I am so glad I stumbled on your blog! I can honestly say I have read and reread Eyes and Sing my Name 10-15 times each. As soon as I finish a different author and not sure what to read next I reread your books. You are AWESOME! Thank you for your books. Short ones or long ones, love them all.

Leave a Reply

