Finally… and changes

Well, after more aggravation and frustration than I’m willing to bore you with over things totally unrelated to the story, things like cover and formatting, I finally have files ready to upload to Amazon, and unless something else happens, will get to a wifi connection and do it Monday. Ebook only, paperback will lag behind a bit.

The changes are to the cover and blurb. Some of you mentioned liking the title of The Journal, and I liked it myself. In the end, however, I changed it for several reasons, none of which would have been enough by itself, but all of which cumulatively convinced me.

For better or worse, I also changed the blurb. So here they are, cover and blurb for what is now A Grand Race.

Caroline Tindell arrives in St. Louis for the thousand-mile 1905 Great Plains Automobile Race expecting a comfortable ride in her cousin’s Pierce Great Arrow. Instead, she endures an unsettling encounter with the rogue who broke her heart six years ago, a seat in the back of the automobile with the luggage, and long moments of terror when the speeding Arrow plunges off the road.

Jamie Lenahan’s brief conversation with Caroline before the start of the race evokes regret and painful memories. The way she left him years ago didn’t surprise him. The effect she still has on him does. At least since her cousin roared off among the pacesetters, Caroline will be safely out of sight, if not out of mind, for the rest of the race.

Caroline is not out of sight, however. There she is, sitting stranded by the side of the road. What can a man do except stop and offer her a ride?

Medium Kindle Cover

~Ellen

16 Responses to Finally… and changes

  1. Corina says:

    I’m so looking forward to it!!! I read quite a lot of books a year, 365 last year;-), but your books are highlights, every single one.

  2. Patricia Patterson says:

    It is a date!!! Monday will be a reading day. I am so looking forward to it. Thanks for every word you have ever written. Sit back and smile. You bring so much joy to your readers.

  3. Patricia Patterson says:

    I just decided to reread Into the Light tomorrow. Jamie and I need to be reacquainted.

  4. Jane L Knisely says:

    Yay! Love the cover and I’m glad you found such fitting silhouettes. Cant wait.

  5. Sharon says:

    Awesome! Counting the hours!😊

  6. Rosheen says:

    😃😃😃😃

  7. DallasE says:

    Yes!!!

  8. June Breed says:

    Can’t wait.

  9. Marcia Montoya says:

    Even tho we all tend to get anxious, your books are so worth waiting for. This will be a perfect trilogy!!
    Thank-you Ellen.
    Marcia Montoya

  10. Thanks, everyone. I hope you all really do like the story when you get it.

    Patricia – if I upload Monday (and it will be in the afternoon or early evening), it will undoubtedly be at least Tuesday and maybe even Wednesday before the book is available on Amazon. Also keep in mind new books seem to come up there piece by piece, so for instance, it may show up as available but not show a cover, etc.

    Since you mention the cover, Jane, and thank you more than you’ll ever know for saying that, I think maybe some of you would get a kick out of the saga of my cover travails this time. I started to put it here, but it’s a long tale of woe, and might be the longest comment in history, so I’ll make another blog post of it.

    ~ Ellen

  11. Judy S says:

    In anticipation of your upcoming book I am going to read again one of your older ones. I should read Into the Light again but I think it will be ….. Hmmmm. Can’t decide they are all favorites and thank God for my Kindle because I would have worn the pages off your books I have read them so many times.

  12. Robin Roeschlein says:

    I love the cover and blurb! You did an excellent job with both. I’m so excited to read Jamie and Caroline story. Thank you for all your wonderful stories. 😊

  13. DallasE says:

    Just bought it! Now, do I finish the book I’m reading or say the heck with it and dig in…. Hmmmm

  14. Patricia Patterson says:

    I kept checking and finally, it was there. ( I reread Into the Light and Beautiful Bad Man while I waited.). I just finished A Grand Race and it is truly grand. What an absolute delight. I don’t know how you do it but am thrilled to have another of your books on my keeper shelf.
    Congratulations and thank you. Consider this a virtual hug!!!

  15. Thanks all of you for your comments and patience.

    Patricia, particular thanks. Yours is the first “reader in the wild” feedback I’ve had, and there’s always some level of nervousness wondering how a book will go over. It’s both great and a relief to have someone say they liked a new book. ~ Ellen

  16. Patricia Patterson says:

    You are more than welcome. Put you feet up and enjoy your favorite beverage. Here’s to you!!!

Leave a Reply

