Hello, again

Well, I’ve been MIA again for a long while, haven’t I?

What inspired me to post today is an email from Regan Walker. She is featuring Dancing on Coals on her blog today, and her review is really exceptionally nice. Check it out:

http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com/2016/06/new-review-ellen-oconnells-dancing-on.html

Regan also reports she is getting 14,000 visits to her blog site a month now, which is fantastic. Also don’t forget Regan writes romance herself – Georgian, Regency and Medieval – so you may want to check those out too.

As to my news, such as it is, the good is I have been writing, working on the Jamie Lenahan/Caroline Tindell story. The bad news is, of course, that I’ve been doing it slowly, very slowly.

At least until recently when I seem to actually be in gear, which one can hope means I’m over the blahs. There is, of course, always the chance that I just have close-to-the-end-hurry-and-get-it done-itis. That’s not to say the story will be out next week or anything. Even after I’m done, there’s more research to this one than I realized when I started, and I’ve just skipped over and left it for the end in some places. Also, beta reads, editing, proofing, but I’m finally close.

The plan, you may remember, was to write a novella to send to the mailing list and publish Luke’s Eyes. Alas, as usual I’ve screwed up my own plans. I have at least 3 scenes left to write, and this “novella” is venturing into short novel territory. I think I’ve set out here before how writers and publishers divide things by word count:

Short Story – 1,000 – 7,500 words
Novellette – 7,500 – 20,000 words
Novella – 20,000 – 40,000 words
Novel – 40,000 -110,000

Of course hardly anyone has ever heard of a novellette, and what most writers do is ignore the category and add it to short story. So anything up to 20,000 words is labeled short story (except for some indies, who happily label their 10,000 word stories as novels, but that’s ignorance or perhaps deliberate ignorance on behalf of aggressive marketing).

There’s also a lot of debate over where it’s reasonable to start calling something a novel. I think that 40,000 is low. Some change that to 50,000, and I’d put it more like 60,000. Anyway, this new story of mine has just crossed the 40,000 mark, and I plan to keep calling it a novella.

For those of you that only want to hear about pages, this novella is going to end up at about half the page count of Beautiful Bad Man and Into the Light, so it would be 140-150 pages.

I don’t have a title yet. The first one that occurred to me was Race With A Rogue, which made me laugh because it sounds like a Regency. Right now I’m torn between The Truce and The Journal, both of which are apropos.

I don’t have a blurb yet, but the basic premise is that Jamie Lenahan and his brother-in-law Nolan Burke, who you may remember started the Hubbell Automobile Company in Into the Light, have agreed to drive a 1,000-mile automobile race for a wealthy collector. When Nolan falls ill the day before they are to leave, Jamie sets out alone. To his surprise and hers, who does he see at the start but Miss Caroline Tindell, the girl her family sent to Europe to end her affair with him some years before. Also the girl he lied to his best friend about and said he was never serious and knew she wasn’t either.

So most of the story is the race, but it ends up in Hubbell, Kansas, where the Van Cleves and Suttons pop up again for a scene or two.

Check out Regan’s blog, why don’t you?

~Ellen

 

11 Responses to Hello, again

  1. So looking forward to Jamie & Caroline’s story, no matter the title or page count (though as with the case of your books, more is better.)

  2. Patricia Patterson says:

    I am delighted to see your name in the inbox. Whenever you are ready, I will buy it. We all have blah times. Your books have helped me through some of those cold snowy times.

    But it is spring in the Tetons. The flowers are starting to bloom. I wish you were here.

    I look forward to your upcoming offering. I have reread all the others to the point of quoting some scenes.

    Be safe and well.

  3. azspoppy1 says:

    Hi It’s Marcia Montoya again. So glad to hear all this good news from you and can’t wait. Glad you’re feeling better and everything is moving along. Like so many others, I’m excited and can’t wait.

    Powered by Cricket Wireless

  4. Rhonda says:

    Hello, again! So happy to hear from you. Good Cheer! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Rosheen says:

    ๐Ÿ˜€ good to see a blog post ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Sharon Hicks says:

    Great news on up coming story! Looking forward to it whatever it’s length!๐Ÿ˜€

  7. DallasE says:

    Well, that brightened my day! There is a light at the end of the tunnel, in the form of a new book from Ellen. YAY!!!

  8. Linda Rewis says:

    I look forward to your next book. Whether it is a short story, novel or anything in between I will still purchase it.

  9. McD says:

    So very happy to hear that your next title is coming along, Ellen!
    And speaking of ‘Dancing on Coals’ I’ve just recently finished my 7th read of this fabulous book! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Roberta Conflenti says:

    I’m with Linda–will buy whatever you next publish. Can’t wait.

  11. Thanks, everyone.

    McD, I think you are going for some sort of record. I have a lot of books I reread regularly, so the reads pile up over the years. As I’ve said before I don’t keep records, but I seriously doubt if I’ve ever read anything 7 times. Maybe if I did keep track, I’d find I’m wrong about some of the oldies, but wow….

    ~Ellen

Leave a Reply

